Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22435
Liked: 1442 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 26, 2016 10:44 am

Thanks, Mike! For a more detailed comparison (free vs. paid edition), please wait for the official announcement on our website.

yasuda
Enthusiast
Posts: 60
Liked: 10 times
Joined: May 15, 2014 3:29 pm
Full Name: Peter Yasuda
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by yasuda » Oct 31, 2016 2:57 pm

Mike Resseler wrote:Jan,

Server edition is FREE + Workstation + Guest file indexing and search, transaction log processing and application-aware processing

Hope it helps

Mike
Mike, I thought the current VEB did transaction log processing and application aware processing? Am I misunderstanding the terms?

I reviewed the Application-Aware Image Processing FAQ, but it is still not clear to me. Actually, the FAQ says log pruning is part of Application Aware Processing.

We run VEB on some domain controllers, and it does prevent the Windows event log warnings about AD not being backed up. Also, there's a physical Exchange 2010 server (where VEB is being used as an interim until migration to virtualized Exchange 2016 and B&R 9 has been completed) and the Exchange transaction logs are cleared by the VEB backup.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5597
Liked: 585 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by Mike Resseler » Oct 31, 2016 3:00 pm

Hi Peter,

My apologies, I should have stated it more clear... AAP in server edition is the same application awareness as in Backup & Replication which is more advanced. You are right that in the free edition pruning of the logs is done after a successful backup. But as stated, our AAP is more advanced.

Thanks

Mike

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 790 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by Dima P. » Nov 01, 2016 4:47 pm

Peter,

Basically, in current version you can install VEB on a Windows Server. VEB detects that it’s a server OS and start to truncate logs by default but it does not collect the metadata regarding the installed applications. Said behavior remains for VAW 2.0 Free version

VAW 2.0 Server mode will provide the full control of the process and add additional logic for backing up your applications. Why this important? Applications like SQL, Oracle or SharePoint may require impersonation with admin creds to carefully handle the backup process (frankly speaking, backup may fail if you do not use correct set of creds for the application). Finally, with VAW running in server mode VBR’s Application Item Restore functionality will work because VAW collects all the required metadata.

yasuda
Enthusiast
Posts: 60
Liked: 10 times
Joined: May 15, 2014 3:29 pm
Full Name: Peter Yasuda
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by yasuda » Nov 07, 2016 6:30 pm

Mike and Dima,

Thank you for explaining.

Request: After VAW goes GA, make a product comparison available somewhere that is more technical than the usual feature list.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 790 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by Dima P. » Nov 08, 2016 12:18 pm

Hi Peter,

Thanks for the feedback. We will have a regular what’s new doc with all the features listed for sure, public edition comparison is planned as well.

adapterer
Expert
Posts: 224
Liked: 42 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 11:24 pm
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by adapterer » Feb 24, 2017 5:28 am

Testing VAW 2.0 beta now and there still doesnt seem to be a way to do hourly/ more frequent backups, can you confirm this is still going to be a feature in GA?

EDIT: NVM, I installed on a server and I can see the settings - would be nice to have the scheduling options for a server too though?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5597
Liked: 585 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 24, 2017 7:35 am

Hi Adapterer,

I'm afraid you lost me here. You installed VAW on a server and you can seen the settings? You mean the scheduling options? So you can see that hourly is possible. This is specifically for the server version?

Let me know
Thanks
Mike

adapterer
Expert
Posts: 224
Liked: 42 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 11:24 pm
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by adapterer » Feb 24, 2017 7:38 am

Sorry - to be more specific, if I install VAW on a workstation (Windows 10 in this case), the more advanced scheduling options weren't available. If I install on Server 2012 - they are there (along with guest processing etc).

I think having the advanced scheduling options on a workstation would be a good feature, daily isnt good enough for some :)

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5597
Liked: 585 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 24, 2017 7:45 am

Got it, that makes more sense :-)

I doubt that more advanced scheduling will come to the workstation, but as already stated here, you can simply create a .bat file (or similar) and schedule it with task scheduler

This should be used (you can test first manually from the command line):

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\Veeam\Endpoint Backup\Veeam.EndPoint.Manager.exe" /backup

adapterer
Expert
Posts: 224
Liked: 42 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 11:24 pm
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by adapterer » Feb 24, 2017 7:52 am

Whilst that's an OK workaround, advanced scheduling really needs to be there for people like creative professionals who have fast DAS for media creation.

A media shop near me use ShadowProtect for this exact purpose - think workstations with Xeon's, big professional GPU's and big flash storage - once a day wouldnt cut it.

That's my 0.02 anyway...

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5597
Liked: 585 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 24, 2017 7:57 am

Interesting case. Thanks for pointing out. I'll leave it to DimaP now to think about this ;-)

adapterer
Expert
Posts: 224
Liked: 42 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 11:24 pm
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by adapterer » Feb 24, 2017 8:00 am

I can understand why you may not want to enable this for 'endpoint', as many users machines may not be fast enough to support this, more support tickets etc etc.

But this is 'workstation', and in any case, you have already written the feature so to me it doesnt make sense to 'gimp' the workstation version in this way.

Make that 0.04 :D

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 790 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by Dima P. » Feb 24, 2017 11:52 am

Hi adapterer,

Why not to use VAW server edition if you want backups to be created more frequently (and suggested workaround does not work)?

adapterer
Expert
Posts: 224
Liked: 42 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 11:24 pm
Contact:

Re: How to configure hourly backups?

Post by adapterer » Feb 27, 2017 6:50 am

Hi Dima,

It's not practical to ask a user to change their operating system - the proper scheduling options dont seem to be available on a Desktop OS currently.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], M.Escobar and 12 guests