Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
plp@lenta.ru
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 16, 2019 12:56 pm
Full Name: Leonid Pavlov
Contact:

How to continue using the old backup after reinstalling the Veeam Agent?

Post by plp@lenta.ru » Jun 16, 2019 1:21 pm

I use the Veeam Agent for Windows to fully back up laptop disks to the NAS. Now a full image and several incremental files are stored on the NAS.

I had to reinstall the Veeam Agent. After that, I created a new Backup Job with the same parameters as before - the same directory on the NAS. But now when I start a backup, a new full image starts to be created. How to continue backup using the old full image (old Backup Job)?

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3672
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: How to continue using the old backup after reinstalling the Veeam Agent?

Post by HannesK » Jun 17, 2019 5:58 am 1 person likes this post

Hello,
and welcome to the forums.

The Veeam agent is doing image level backup per default. If you uninstall the software, it cannot work with the old image backups anymore for backup (of course you can restore). Change block tracking information is lost due to de-installation of the product. So what you see is normal.

Best regards,
Hannes

plp@lenta.ru
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 16, 2019 12:56 pm
Full Name: Leonid Pavlov
Contact:

Re: How to continue using the old backup after reinstalling the Veeam Agent?

Post by plp@lenta.ru » Jul 04, 2019 2:21 pm

Thank you for the answer Hannes

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests