Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
AlexLeadingEdge
Expert
Posts: 306
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 9:42 pm
Contact:

Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Post by AlexLeadingEdge » Jun 07, 2017 11:45 pm

Can Veeam Agent 2.0 increment using the backups created by Veeam EP 1.5? It seems to be doing it correctly, it does the Full Backup merge successfully, but will I have issues doing a restore further down the track if I don't delete all the 1.5 backups and start from scratch with Agent 2.0?

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Post by Dima P. » Jun 08, 2017 11:54 am 1 person likes this post

Hi AlexLeadingEdge,

Since we do support upgrade from 1.5 to 2.0 restore and merge should work without any issues.

AlexLeadingEdge
Expert
Posts: 306
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Post by AlexLeadingEdge » Jun 11, 2017 10:35 pm

Thanks Dima! Woohoo! I didn't realise that the 2.0.0.700 allows for an upgrade option now! :)

AlexLeadingEdge
Expert
Posts: 306
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Post by AlexLeadingEdge » Jun 11, 2017 10:44 pm

Just out of curiosity, when will Veeam EP 1.5 get an upgrade option from within the already installed program?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5701
Liked: 601 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Post by Mike Resseler » Jun 12, 2017 6:31 am 1 person likes this post

Normally it takes a few weeks before we put the switch on. This is to make sure that we catch any unforeseen issues before the mass upgrade starts

Mike

ailitsupp
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 15, 2017 11:35 pm
Full Name: Hendri Marzuki
Contact:

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Post by ailitsupp » Jun 16, 2017 2:49 am

Hi Dima! Currently I have Endpoint Backup 1.5 installed on my Exchange server (WS 2008 R2, Exch 2010 latest revision). So the current Endpoint Backup 1.5, will be able to be upgraded in place to Veeam Agent for Windows 2.0.0.700? Which also means the Veeam Explorer can do retrieval of the Exchange item?

When Veeam Agent for Windows backup the Exchange server (all paritions), does it flush the exchange log, like in Backup Exec?

Thanks!

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Post by Dima P. » Jun 18, 2017 7:20 pm

Hi ailitsupp,

Yes, upgrade is fully supported. To clarify, you are referring to log truncation option, right?

ailitsupp
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 15, 2017 11:35 pm
Full Name: Hendri Marzuki
Contact:

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Post by ailitsupp » Jun 18, 2017 9:44 pm

Hi Dima,

Yes, log truncation. In Backup Exec it's called Full Database & Log (flush committed logs).
Thanks.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Post by Dima P. » Jun 19, 2017 4:28 pm

VAW Free or Workstation will truncate logs by default when it is installed on server operating systems. If you are using VAW Server edition you can control log truncation option and specify addition options for application processing. Server edition is recommended if you would like to protect MS Exchange or any other server application.

ailitsupp
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 15, 2017 11:35 pm
Full Name: Hendri Marzuki
Contact:

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Post by ailitsupp » Jun 20, 2017 9:25 pm

Thanks, Dima for the clarification.

reaperhammer
Service Provider
Posts: 27
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Aug 18, 2016 7:59 pm
Full Name: Will S
Contact:

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Post by reaperhammer » Jun 20, 2018 10:40 pm

I am finding it very hard to find actual documentation with supported upgrade paths for Veeam Endpoint Backup > Veeam Agent for Windows, does such a document exist?

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Post by Dima P. » Jun 21, 2018 10:42 am

Will,

You can upgrade from 1.5 to latest Veeam Agent for Windows version without any issues. Cheers!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests