Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Veeam Logoby AlexLeadingEdge » Wed Jun 07, 2017 11:45 pm

Can Veeam Agent 2.0 increment using the backups created by Veeam EP 1.5? It seems to be doing it correctly, it does the Full Backup merge successfully, but will I have issues doing a restore further down the track if I don't delete all the 1.5 backups and start from scratch with Agent 2.0?
AlexLeadingEdge
Expert
 
Posts: 152
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:42 pm

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:54 am 1 person likes this post

Hi AlexLeadingEdge,

Since we do support upgrade from 1.5 to 2.0 restore and merge should work without any issues.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6385
Liked: 449 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Veeam Logoby AlexLeadingEdge » Sun Jun 11, 2017 10:35 pm

Thanks Dima! Woohoo! I didn't realise that the 2.0.0.700 allows for an upgrade option now! :)
AlexLeadingEdge
Expert
 
Posts: 152
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:42 pm

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Veeam Logoby AlexLeadingEdge » Sun Jun 11, 2017 10:44 pm

Just out of curiosity, when will Veeam EP 1.5 get an upgrade option from within the already installed program?
AlexLeadingEdge
Expert
 
Posts: 152
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:42 pm

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Jun 12, 2017 6:31 am 1 person likes this post

Normally it takes a few weeks before we put the switch on. This is to make sure that we catch any unforeseen issues before the mass upgrade starts

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3282
Liked: 365 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Veeam Logoby ailitsupp » Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:49 am

Hi Dima! Currently I have Endpoint Backup 1.5 installed on my Exchange server (WS 2008 R2, Exch 2010 latest revision). So the current Endpoint Backup 1.5, will be able to be upgraded in place to Veeam Agent for Windows 2.0.0.700? Which also means the Veeam Explorer can do retrieval of the Exchange item?

When Veeam Agent for Windows backup the Exchange server (all paritions), does it flush the exchange log, like in Backup Exec?

Thanks!
ailitsupp
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:35 pm
Full Name: Hendri Marzuki

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Jun 18, 2017 7:20 pm

Hi ailitsupp,

Yes, upgrade is fully supported. To clarify, you are referring to log truncation option, right?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6385
Liked: 449 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Veeam Logoby ailitsupp » Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:44 pm

Hi Dima,

Yes, log truncation. In Backup Exec it's called Full Database & Log (flush committed logs).
Thanks.
ailitsupp
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:35 pm
Full Name: Hendri Marzuki

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:28 pm

VAW Free or Workstation will truncate logs by default when it is installed on server operating systems. If you are using VAW Server edition you can control log truncation option and specify addition options for application processing. Server edition is recommended if you would like to protect MS Exchange or any other server application.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6385
Liked: 449 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Increment Agent 2.0 Using 1.5 Backups?

Veeam Logoby ailitsupp » Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:25 pm

Thanks, Dima for the clarification.
ailitsupp
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:35 pm
Full Name: Hendri Marzuki


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests