Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
bbibber
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mar 06, 2015 8:29 pm
Full Name: Guy Schellens
Location: Mechelen, Belgium
Contact:

Integration with Essentials bundle

Post by bbibber » Mar 06, 2015 8:41 pm

A marketing question... Will it be possible to backup (with the non free product) to backup repositories if you use the Essentials bundles? If so, will there be limitations?

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21523
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Integration with Essentials bundle

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 06, 2015 8:49 pm

Currently Veeam Endpoint is free and you can backup to Veeam backup repositories (doesn't matter if Veeam B&R is part of Essentials bundle or not) with our latest RC build.

bbibber
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mar 06, 2015 8:29 pm
Full Name: Guy Schellens
Location: Mechelen, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Integration with Essentials bundle

Post by bbibber » Mar 06, 2015 9:15 pm

Thanks for the quick answer Vitaliy.

I misinterpreted
Veeam Backup & Replication™ integration and backup repository support are NOT included in this beta
Can't wait to try this :-)

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22977
Liked: 2880 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Integration with Essentials bundle

Post by Gostev » Mar 06, 2015 9:35 pm

Actually you did not - this statement relates to the original beta build, and we've just released the new one.

Small correction, you need to be using any paid edition of Veeam Backup & Replication for this functionality.
Since Veeam Backup Free Edition simply does not have backup repositories, it cannot be used as a target.

bbibber
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mar 06, 2015 8:29 pm
Full Name: Guy Schellens
Location: Mechelen, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Integration with Essentials bundle

Post by bbibber » Mar 06, 2015 10:01 pm 2 people like this post

Hi Anton

Thanks for the explanation.

We're in the process of buying an Essentials bundle right now. The bundle imposes some other limitations (cores, # of ESXi hosts, ...).
That's why I was asking.

I falsely assumed the free Endpoint product wouldn't be able to connect to backup repositories or integrate with Veeam Backup & Replication.
You see a lot of "free" products lacking the most interesting features. Nice to see this is not the case here :-)
it's a nice gesture: every company has some workstations they want to backup...

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21523
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Integration with Essentials bundle

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 07, 2015 1:09 pm

bbibber wrote:We're in the process of buying an Essentials bundle right now. The bundle imposes some other limitations (cores, # of ESXi hosts, .
Veeam Essentials bundle is only limited by the number of sockets (6 max), no restrictions on the hosts and cores number. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JoshuahHTech and 6 guests