Integration with Essentials bundle

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Integration with Essentials bundle

Veeam Logoby bbibber » Fri Mar 06, 2015 8:41 pm

A marketing question... Will it be possible to backup (with the non free product) to backup repositories if you use the Essentials bundles? If so, will there be limitations?
bbibber
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 8:29 pm
Location: Mechelen, Belgium
Full Name: Guy Schellens

Re: Integration with Essentials bundle

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Mar 06, 2015 8:49 pm

Currently Veeam Endpoint is free and you can backup to Veeam backup repositories (doesn't matter if Veeam B&R is part of Essentials bundle or not) with our latest RC build.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Integration with Essentials bundle

Veeam Logoby bbibber » Fri Mar 06, 2015 9:15 pm

Thanks for the quick answer Vitaliy.

I misinterpreted
Veeam Backup & Replication™ integration and backup repository support are NOT included in this beta

Can't wait to try this :-)
bbibber
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 8:29 pm
Location: Mechelen, Belgium
Full Name: Guy Schellens

Re: Integration with Essentials bundle

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Mar 06, 2015 9:35 pm

Actually you did not - this statement relates to the original beta build, and we've just released the new one.

Small correction, you need to be using any paid edition of Veeam Backup & Replication for this functionality.
Since Veeam Backup Free Edition simply does not have backup repositories, it cannot be used as a target.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Integration with Essentials bundle

Veeam Logoby bbibber » Fri Mar 06, 2015 10:01 pm 2 people like this post

Hi Anton

Thanks for the explanation.

We're in the process of buying an Essentials bundle right now. The bundle imposes some other limitations (cores, # of ESXi hosts, ...).
That's why I was asking.

I falsely assumed the free Endpoint product wouldn't be able to connect to backup repositories or integrate with Veeam Backup & Replication.
You see a lot of "free" products lacking the most interesting features. Nice to see this is not the case here :-)
it's a nice gesture: every company has some workstations they want to backup...
bbibber
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 8:29 pm
Location: Mechelen, Belgium
Full Name: Guy Schellens

Re: Integration with Essentials bundle

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sat Mar 07, 2015 1:09 pm

bbibber wrote:We're in the process of buying an Essentials bundle right now. The bundle imposes some other limitations (cores, # of ESXi hosts, .

Veeam Essentials bundle is only limited by the number of sockets (6 max), no restrictions on the hosts and cores number. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests