Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
robertb24
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 29, 2010 1:07 pm
Full Name: Robert Bate
Contact:

License question

Post by robertb24 » Mar 12, 2019 12:51 pm

I have been using the Veeam agent for Windows (Free) on quite a few of my clients server. Much better than Windows backup. I have even upgraded a few to the paid for Server version.

I am now been told that I can only buy these now in blocks of 10, is that correct?

Most clients only have 1 server, so if this is the case makes it uneconomical to purchase 10 versions.

Anyone know if this is correct?

thanks

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7001
Liked: 717 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: License question

Post by Shestakov » Mar 12, 2019 1:02 pm

Hello Robert,
Yes, instance-based licenses are sold in bundles, however, for such cases as yours there is a new community edition which allows to protect up to 10 agents for free with all paid features.

robertb24
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 29, 2010 1:07 pm
Full Name: Robert Bate
Contact:

Re: License question

Post by robertb24 » Mar 12, 2019 1:44 pm

ok, so how do I now protect clients with single servers? I am just using the agent for bare metal backups of itself to NAS box or USB. Works great but need the server agent version so I can do correct CBT of SQL etc

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1762
Liked: 224 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: License question

Post by DGrinev » Mar 12, 2019 2:07 pm

Hey Robert,

You can install VBR Community Edition as was said by Nikita, then deploy an Agent to the physical server through the backup server, it allows you to deploy up to 3 Agents Server Edition. Thanks!

robertb24
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 29, 2010 1:07 pm
Full Name: Robert Bate
Contact:

Re: License question

Post by robertb24 » Mar 12, 2019 2:17 pm

So, from having a simple agent install (which I was prepared to pay for) I now have to install a different product and then deploy an agent to itself to backup?

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1762
Liked: 224 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: License question

Post by DGrinev » Mar 12, 2019 2:26 pm

You still can purchase a bundle of 10 instances and install it in the standalone Agent, which allows you to switch in the Server Mode. Thanks!

robertb24
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 29, 2010 1:07 pm
Full Name: Robert Bate
Contact:

Re: License question

Post by robertb24 » Mar 12, 2019 2:34 pm

As you say, I can buy a bundle of 10, which is 10x what I was paying. The cost of £1044 per year and I only have one server. It used to be just over £100 which was fine.
Sadly, if this is the case then I will have to look at another vendor as you have just priced me out.

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1762
Liked: 224 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: License question

Post by DGrinev » Mar 12, 2019 3:17 pm

For small environments as you've described you can obtain Backup Essentials which will be cheaper than 1044 per year.
You can use the pricing calculator here, to estimate the cost. Thanks!

robertb24
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 29, 2010 1:07 pm
Full Name: Robert Bate
Contact:

Re: License question

Post by robertb24 » Mar 12, 2019 3:40 pm

It it still 3x more expensive

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1762
Liked: 224 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: License question

Post by DGrinev » Mar 12, 2019 4:08 pm

But still you can have it and even more totally free with the VBR CE. Thanks!

akwete
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 30, 2018 2:58 am
Full Name: Ken Onwere
Contact:

Re: License question

Post by akwete » Mar 18, 2019 3:31 am

@DGrinev

The CBT driver is not avaialable with either the Veeam Agent for Windows (Free edition standalone) or the Veeam Agent for Windows managed by VBR CE. You need the paid Veeam Agent for Windows license (Server edition.) Unfortunately, to get just one license, you must purchase either VBR or one of the Veeam suites with a minimum of 10 instances (aka licenses.) Essentially @robertb24 has been priced out.

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1762
Liked: 224 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: License question

Post by DGrinev » Mar 18, 2019 10:40 am

Hey Ken,

You can deploy 3 server mode Agents within Veeam B&R Community Edition, since it has 10 instances (standard edition) and each Server Agent consume 3 instances.
Have you tried to create Backup job for the deployed Agent in server mode? Thanks!

Anguel
Expert
Posts: 143
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Apr 16, 2015 9:01 am
Location: Germany / Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: License question

Post by Anguel » May 13, 2019 1:23 pm

What I actually think is "unfair" is that with the free community edition we get 10 instances but with the paid Backup Essentials Standard (2 sockets) we get only 2 instances so I don't even get a single Veeam Agent Server license because it requires 3 instances so I would need to buy 10 instances in addition. What I actually need is to run multiple backup jobs on a single workstation but unfortunately to do that I need a Veeam Agent Server license because Workstation can only do multiple backup jobs to Cloud Connect and not to a local target...

robertb24
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 29, 2010 1:07 pm
Full Name: Robert Bate
Contact:

Re: License question

Post by robertb24 » May 24, 2019 10:04 am 1 person likes this post

If anyone is interested this is how I have managed to license my agents without paying 10x the price.
I have signed up with a Veeam Cloud Connect partner and as part of the contract they can supply agent licenses on a monthly cost bases.
This works well and now allows cloud backup as well as multi local backups (which is what I was trying to do in the first place)
My 321 plan is now working.
As I am a Veeam partner and doing this for clients you will need to pass the Veeam VMSP and VMTSP which I already had done.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests