Minor issue - Previous Button Available on Summary

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Minor issue - Previous Button Available on Summary

Veeam Logoby rtol » Tue Dec 16, 2014 11:09 pm

I have noticed that when I am configuring a backup, after I arrive at the summary screen the "Previous" button is greyed out. This prevents me from making any changes to the backup without going back through the "configure backup" link.
rtol
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:48 pm
Full Name: Robert Tollifson

Re: Minor issue

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:08 am

Hello Robert,
That is expected behavior – once you completed the very last Schedule step you click the Finish button and all the settings you configured are saved before Summary appears.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Feature Request - Previous Button Available on Summary

Veeam Logoby ninjaburn81 » Mon Dec 29, 2014 3:40 pm

This is a UI complaint I have in both B&R and the Endpoint client: When hitting the Summary page, the '< Previous' button is no longer available.

I have had several head-desk moments where I check the Summary and realize I have selected the wrong volume/schedule/repository/etc and I need to go back to somewhere else in the process to fix it. Yet to do that, I need to click 'Finish', reopen the Edit and find where I need to go again. I am sure this is simply a matter of Veeam being consistent in their UI interface (which is commendable), but it drives me NUTS! Have other users/admins ever complained about this?
ninjaburn81
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:56 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Full Name: Adam Vogini

Re: Feature Request - Previous Button Available on Summary

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Dec 29, 2014 11:45 pm

ninjaburn81 wrote:Have other users/admins ever complained about this?

Yes, many times. But this was the architectural decision made at some point long ago in response to huge amount of bugs that suggested behavior caused. I suppose we can revisit this one day, when our UI team has nothing more valuable to work on.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21386
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Feature Request - Previous Button Available on Summary

Veeam Logoby ninjaburn81 » Tue Dec 30, 2014 4:22 pm

Gostev wrote:I suppose we can revisit this one day, when our UI team has nothing more valuable to work on.

Was just a request, wasn't trying to be annoying! :oops:
ninjaburn81
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:56 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Full Name: Adam Vogini

Re: Minor issue - Previous Button Available on Summary

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Dec 31, 2014 6:17 am 1 person likes this post

Adam,

You weren't annoying. Anton just explained why we have this today. Trust me when I say we take all of your feedback with us :wink:

The more feedback we get, the more we like it.

Cheers

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3150
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Minor issue - Previous Button Available on Summary

Veeam Logoby ninjaburn81 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 3:13 am

Just was making sure! ;)
ninjaburn81
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:56 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Full Name: Adam Vogini


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests