Moving Full backup to another location

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Moving Full backup to another location

Veeam Logoby oonyekpa » Thu Feb 19, 2015 4:11 pm

I have a full backup of my system which was performed to a USB drive. However, I want to transfer it to a NAS device and perform the incremental backups there also perform any recovery from the NAS device. Is this possible and how do I go about it?
oonyekpa
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 3:28 pm
Full Name: Onyemaechi Onyekpa

Re: Moving Full backup to another location

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:27 pm

Hi oonyekpa,
You can manually move the existing backup files from USB drive to the shared folder on the NAS you are going to use as a backup destination. Then go to ‘Configure backup’ and change the Destination type to the Shared Folder with previously moved backup chain. Endpoint will recognize the files and continue the backup – it will be an incremental job run instead of the full backup.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6253
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Moving Full backup to another location

Veeam Logoby squeeky » Thu Apr 16, 2015 10:35 am

I also have tried to do this with GA release, and not matter where in the file hierarchy I specify the shared folder on the NAS (where I have moved the full backup from the USB drive) Veeam proceeds to create a new folder and launch a full backup. Is there a way of forcing it to recognize a backup chain?
Awesome product btw, was just looking into other backup solutions this now covers all bases for physical machines and hasn't failed yet.
Thx.
squeeky
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 10:31 am

Re: Moving Full backup to another location

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Apr 20, 2015 5:57 am

squeeky,

Did you moved the backups from an RC (or beta) version? That won't work as there are changes so the GA will make a new chain. If it is a chain that has been made by GA, moved, and then you changed the destination then it should work. I have verified it and it works perfectly

Let me know

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3164
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Moving Full backup to another location

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:58 pm

Agree with Mike. Could you please verify that existing backup chain was not created previously by BETA or RC? Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6253
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], cloggy and 15 guests