MS cluster?

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

MS cluster?

Veeam Logoby rho » Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:47 am

Hi all,

How does Veeam Agent for windows 2.0 works with Microsoft Clusters? I does have a few file and SQL clusters running.. I know that the cluster drives are available for selection inside the Agent, but how does the agent handle cluster failovers? And how about restore?

Best regards
Ronni
rho
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 2:05 pm
Full Name: Ronni Holst

Re: MS cluster?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:56 am

Ronni,

Clustering is something we are looking into, but VAW 2.0 won't have support for MS Clusters (I assume you are talking about standard failover clusters). You can protect a single node (as a standalone) but VAW won't be aware that it is a cluster. Which means that in the case of a failover, it won't know this and your backups will fail as the disk won't be available anymore.

But as said, this is on our list
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3382
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: MS cluster?

Veeam Logoby jeff.richeson » Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:04 am

So does that mean I should be able to pick a clustered volume to back up? I am only seeing the non-clustered volumes. Anything that is CSVFS is not available in the list of volumes.
jeff.richeson
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 1:58 am

Re: MS cluster?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:53 pm

Hi Jeff,

What is your exact scenario? If you are protecting the active node, it should be able to see the data if I am not mistaken
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3382
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: MS cluster?

Veeam Logoby jeff.richeson » Mon May 01, 2017 12:45 pm

We have a standard configuration: 2 node SQL failover cluster using physical RDMs for shared storage. The agent is installed on the primary node but it can only see the non-clustered volumes. I opened a support case but all they could tell me was that clusters aren't supported in any of the Veeam products. Currently, I'm working around the issue by having a scheduled task run a script to robocopy the clustered backup volume to a non-clustered volume and using the agent to back up that volume.
jeff.richeson
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 1:58 am

Re: MS cluster?

Veeam Logoby vClintWyckoff » Mon May 01, 2017 5:33 pm

As you note VAW is not natively 'Cluster' aware in the current version 2.0. Thanks for providing the community with your workaround.
vClintWyckoff
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 464
Liked: 104 times
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 1:22 am
Location: Technical Evangelist
Full Name: Clint Wyckoff

[MERGED] Backup of virtual MS Clusters

Veeam Logoby apetersen » Wed Sep 06, 2017 12:21 pm

Hello,

Maybe this question has already been posted but unable to locate.

Did anyone try to use the Veeam Agent for backing up virtual Microsoft Windows clusters having raw devices? Any feedback is most welcome.

Thanks
Allan
apetersen
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 4:57 pm
Full Name: Allan Petersen

Re: MS cluster?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Sep 06, 2017 2:36 pm

Allan, there is some information in this topic. If you have any other questions, please let us know.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19960
Liked: 1145 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: MS cluster?

Veeam Logoby apetersen » Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:42 am

I will be at VMware World this week so will run over to you guys and have a chat :-)
apetersen
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 4:57 pm
Full Name: Allan Petersen

Re: MS cluster?

Veeam Logoby SynthosKralupy » Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:34 am 1 person likes this post

Hello Allan,

we are using two-node Microsoft failover clustering, Clusters Across Physical Machines (Cluster Across Boxes) configuration according to http://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-51/topic/com.vmware.ICbase/PDF/vsphere-esxi-vcenter-server-51-setup-mscs.pdf. There is Veeam agent for Windows installed on both nodes and backup configuration set to "Entire computer". Each node has own system disk and there are two shared RDM disks (quorum + data disk).

It works perfectly.

Pavel.
SynthosKralupy
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 10:16 am
Full Name: Synthos Kralupy

Re: MS cluster?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:16 pm

Pavel,

Thanks for sharing! You are saying that shared RDM is backed up by active note, right? I wonder how backup on the passive node goes when RDM is attached to the active node?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6683
Liked: 478 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: MS cluster?

Veeam Logoby SynthosKralupy » Tue Sep 12, 2017 6:17 am 1 person likes this post

It is simple and works. Shared RDM disks are backed on active node only. So only system (standard VMDK disk) is backed on passive node at this moment. When server is in passive state, it see only own system drive, no RDM. If you need restore something, you just have to find out which node was active in desired point of time. I simply open both nodes in Veeam backup browser at same restore point and see it. http://prntscr.com/gk3862
SynthosKralupy
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 10:16 am
Full Name: Synthos Kralupy

Re: MS cluster?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Sep 12, 2017 5:13 pm

Great! Thanks for confirming.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6683
Liked: 478 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest