No VSS Snapshot

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

No VSS Snapshot

Veeam Logoby BCT-Tech » Wed Mar 08, 2017 4:52 pm

We are trying out Veeam Agent.

I created a new File Level job to backup our Data Drive, and did not enable application aware processing.

When the job started, it created a VSS snapshot. Was that supposed to happen?

How do we create a job that does not use VSS?

This 2012 R2 Server uses DFS, and we found that a Veeam backup job will pause replication. The Data drives and storage drives are slow, so initial bckup takes about 60 hours. We cannot have replication paused for 60 hours.
BCT-Tech
Service Provider
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: No VSS Snapshot

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Mar 08, 2017 4:59 pm

Hi,

Did you select the entire data drive?
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3345
Liked: 380 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: No VSS Snapshot

Veeam Logoby BCT-Tech » Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:00 pm

Mike Resseler wrote:Did you select the entire data drive?

Yes, only the D: drive.
BCT-Tech
Service Provider
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: No VSS Snapshot

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:03 pm

Just as a test,

Could you create 1 test folder or something on that drive, and then select everything besides that specific test folder. If I am not mistaken, because you selected the entire drive, VAW will still do a volume backup (because it is faster and uses VSS) instead of going to a file backup.
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3345
Liked: 380 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: No VSS Snapshot

Veeam Logoby BCT-Tech » Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:14 pm

Mike Resseler wrote:Just as a test,

Could you create 1 test folder or something on that drive, and then select everything besides that specific test folder. If I am not mistaken, because you selected the entire drive, VAW will still do a volume backup (because it is faster and uses VSS) instead of going to a file backup.

I will try that.

Is this the only way to get Veeam to work with DFS still able to replicate?
BCT-Tech
Service Provider
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: No VSS Snapshot

Veeam Logoby BCT-Tech » Wed Mar 08, 2017 6:43 pm

Unchecked a folder and changed the setting so Storage D: went from "volume level" to "file level". Still creates a VSS backup:

Image

Image
BCT-Tech
Service Provider
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: No VSS Snapshot

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Mar 08, 2017 9:29 pm

How do we create a job that does not use VSS?

Unfortunately, it’s not possible. VAW leverages Volume Shadow Copy service for every backup mode. Are you backing up and replicating the same volume?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6523
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: No VSS Snapshot

Veeam Logoby BCT-Tech » Wed Mar 08, 2017 9:49 pm

Dima P. wrote:Unfortunately, it’s not possible. VAW leverages Volume Shadow Copy service for every backup mode. Are you backing up and replicating the same volume?

We need a solution that will allow DFS to continue to replicate. There is so much data to backup, and the drives and storage are slow, so it takes about 60 hours for an initial full.

There are several folders on the D: Drive that are replicated via DFSR.
BCT-Tech
Service Provider
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:12 pm


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests