problem upgrading from 1.1 to 1.5

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

problem upgrading from 1.1 to 1.5

Veeam Logoby Wim Aerts » Fri Oct 07, 2016 9:37 am

Good morning,
When upgrading endpoint backup to the latest version I get a message that the MSI is nog valid and I should browse for a valid file. The setup folder and file exist and there are sufficient rights.

I think that the uninstaller from version 1.1 needs its own files to do the uninstall. These files are removed since they reside under a Temp folder.
Is there any workaround for this?

Kind regards.

WAE
Wim Aerts
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 8:27 am
Full Name: Wim Aerts

Re: problem upgrading from 1.1 to 1.5

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Oct 07, 2016 10:44 am

Hi Wim Aerts,

Try to manually uninstall the old version and then install the latest one. You job history and backup files should remain untouched.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5834
Liked: 417 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: problem upgrading from 1.1 to 1.5

Veeam Logoby Wim Aerts » Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:37 pm

Good afternoon Dima,

Thanks for replying.
I have tried that. I get the same message. The uninstaller requests an msi file that resides under the temp folders ( witch isn't there anymore). I tried with a MSI file from the last version but that is not accepted.
I think I need a MSI file that matches the version number that is currently installed, but I don't have the original installation files.

Kind regards.

Wim A.
Wim Aerts
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 8:27 am
Full Name: Wim Aerts

Re: problem upgrading from 1.1 to 1.5

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:43 pm

Please share the exact version you are using now (Control Panel > Updates).
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5834
Liked: 417 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: problem upgrading from 1.1 to 1.5

Veeam Logoby Wim Aerts » Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:58 pm

Hi Dima,

My exact version is 1.1.1.212.

Regards.
Wim A.
Wim Aerts
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 8:27 am
Full Name: Wim Aerts

Re: problem upgrading from 1.1 to 1.5

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Oct 10, 2016 1:40 pm 1 person likes this post

Wim,

Just sent a download link. Try to run a repair from old verion’s installer and then run an update.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5834
Liked: 417 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: problem upgrading from 1.1 to 1.5

Veeam Logoby Wim Aerts » Mon Oct 10, 2016 2:06 pm 1 person likes this post

Hello Dima,

That did the trick. After the repair no problem updating to the latest version.
Thanks a million!

Regards.
Wim A.
Wim Aerts
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 8:27 am
Full Name: Wim Aerts

Re: problem upgrading from 1.1 to 1.5

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Oct 10, 2016 2:08 pm

You are welcome!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5834
Liked: 417 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests