problem with backup after a previous backup in error

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

problem with backup after a previous backup in error

Veeam Logoby marcozaro » Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:26 pm

Good morning , a months ago i have setup a scheduled backup of my laptop with a retention policy of 14 days.
today it start the backup after 3 backup error created on 23/12/2014 because we had a network problem.
what i discover into the network share is:

Backup Job TRADEX77.vbm created 12/12/14 dimension 18 kb
Backup Job TRADEX772014-12-17T123008.vbk created 17/12/14 dimension 130Gb
Backup Job TRADEX772014-12-18T123021.vib created 18/12/14 dimension 3,5 Gb
Backup Job TRADEX772014-12-19T123014.vib created 19/12/14 dimension 8,2 Gb
Backup Job TRADEX772014-12-22T123017.vib created 22/12/14 dimension 4,2 Gb
Backup Job TRADEX772015-01-12T123026.vbk created 12/01/15 dimension 135 Gb

why kicks in the policy ? and why i have two vbk of quite the same dimension ? i'm expecting to have only one vbk if the policy kicks in...because vbk is the full backup.
please let me know.
marcozaro
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 33
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:36 pm
Full Name: Marco Zaro

Re: problem with backup after a previous backup in error

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:33 pm

Hello Marco,
This is a confirmed bug: when using shared folder as a backup destination Endpoint can force creation of a new full backup (due connectivity issues it may recognize shared folder as a new repository). This going to be fixed in GA version. Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: problem with backup after a previous backup in error

Veeam Logoby marcozaro » Mon Jan 12, 2015 6:58 pm

ok understand but manually what should i do now?
do i need to delete all file in the share except the small one of 18Kb or delete everything and start from skratch ?
marcozaro
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 33
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:36 pm
Full Name: Marco Zaro

Re: problem with backup after a previous backup in error

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:45 pm

To start completely from scratch you can delete all the existing backup files (.vbk, .vib and .vbm) in the folder, yes. Alternatively you can leave one last .vbk (.vbk created 12/01/15) plus metadata file (.vbm created 12/12/14) and delete just the old chain (17/12/14 - 22/12/14) .vbk and .vibs
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: problem with backup after a previous backup in error

Veeam Logoby marcozaro » Tue Jan 13, 2015 9:20 am

ok done it , thank's.
when will be release the GA ? i need to know it so i can schedule this project for our needs
marcozaro
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 33
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:36 pm
Full Name: Marco Zaro

Re: problem with backup after a previous backup in error

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Jan 13, 2015 9:26 am

Marco,

I don't have a target date for GA, but we promised to release in Q1... I know it is not an exact date, but at least a reference timing :-)

Cheers

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3151
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Possible Bug - Full backup run after disconnect?

Veeam Logoby ninjaburn81 » Thu Jan 15, 2015 3:19 pm 1 person likes this post

Not sure if this is a bug or intended functionality:

If the SMB share the backup is pointing to is unavailable (either the share is unavailable or the endpoint's network is disconnected) it obviously fails. When connection is reestablished and a backup is run, it runs a FULL backup, instead of an incremental. I have tested this a few times now, and can confirm after a failure due to a disconnect a .vbk is created instead of a .vib.

I know if you point the backup to a NEW location a VBK is created first (obviously) but this is the SAME location and existing VBKs/VIBs are visible to the application. Is this behavior intended or not? If it is intended, then I would prefer a VIB be created instead of a VBK, since I could see this being a drag on resources due to unstable network connections (such as WAN connections).

If this is NOT intended, I can also test via a USB 3.0 device I have handy, to see if I can replicate it there too, just need feedback first.
ninjaburn81
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:56 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Full Name: Adam Vogini

Re: problem with backup after a previous backup in error

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Jan 15, 2015 4:28 pm

Adam,
It’s a known bug, yes and no worries it will be fixed in GA
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: problem with backup after a previous backup in error

Veeam Logoby ninjaburn81 » Thu Jan 15, 2015 4:53 pm

Thanks Dmitry, missed this previous thread.
ninjaburn81
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:56 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Full Name: Adam Vogini


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests