Problems after hardware change

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby readie » Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:43 pm

Hi, I've had VEB running successfully for a few weeks (and also at home!).
Recently I have had a complete change of hardware, by imaging my old HD onto a new system (plus some tweaks).
Also, around the same time the repository I was using (which is a Veeam Server repository, on a Windows 2012 R2 server which is a Veeam proxy) crashed.
So I am trying to start from scratch again, starting a new chain of restore points on a new repository. However, even though I've done the configuration on VEB it continues to fail. I have even uninstalled and reinstalled a brand new copy of VEB, but it seems as though it might still be remembering the old backups?
Or might it be a permissions problem? I can't find any helpful errors, either on the Veeam server or on my PC which might help indicate what's going wrong.
Is there an easy way to start again from scratch?
thanks,
Bob
Bob Eadie
Computer Manager at Bedford School, UK (since 1999).
Veeam user since 2009.
readie
Expert
 
Posts: 156
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:29 am
Full Name: Bob Eadie

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Sep 03, 2015 5:26 am

Hello Bob,
Is there any particular error you get while backing up to the said repository is running?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby readie » Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:39 am

No - I can't find any errors anywhere. On the VEB screen it just shows 'Backup is in progress 0%' for a minute or so, and then 'Waiting for the next retry'.
Is there a log tucked away in a folder somewhere that I can look at?
Bob
Bob Eadie
Computer Manager at Bedford School, UK (since 1999).
Veeam user since 2009.
readie
Expert
 
Posts: 156
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:29 am
Full Name: Bob Eadie

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:54 am

Bob,
You can open a case via Endpoint’s Control Panel > Support: once the case is created we automatically get a portion of logs loaded to support team.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby readie » Thu Sep 03, 2015 2:37 pm

Thanks - done that.
Bob Eadie
Computer Manager at Bedford School, UK (since 1999).
Veeam user since 2009.
readie
Expert
 
Posts: 156
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:29 am
Full Name: Bob Eadie

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Thu Sep 03, 2015 4:51 pm

Bob,
Can you post the case ID here so the techs can follow along.

Cheers!
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby readie » Thu Sep 03, 2015 5:21 pm

Of course - 01016065
Bob Eadie
Computer Manager at Bedford School, UK (since 1999).
Veeam user since 2009.
readie
Expert
 
Posts: 156
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:29 am
Full Name: Bob Eadie

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Sep 09, 2015 11:44 am

Just to update the thread - according to our support engineer, the original issue was caused by connectivity/firewall problems as the target or host machine actively refused connection and VEB couldn't transfer backup data to the repository.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby readie » Wed Sep 09, 2015 11:54 am

Sorry this has been on hold - it is the start of our academic year and there has been too much other stuff going on.
The repository is not a windows share, so I'm not sure how my PC can talk to it, except using the Veeam transport protocols.
There are no firewalls in place - we don't use them for internal facing servers or clients.
There is MS Endpoint Protection on both, but I don't suspect this.
Since B&R can use this repository fine, I'm puzzled to see how my PC cannot.
Permission is set on our B&R server rather than on the Repository server.
Bob
Bob Eadie
Computer Manager at Bedford School, UK (since 1999).
Veeam user since 2009.
readie
Expert
 
Posts: 156
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:29 am
Full Name: Bob Eadie

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:33 pm

Bob, thanks for getting back. As far as I see your ticket is going to be closed due to no response after the follow-up email. It would be helpful if you could inform your support engineer that connectivity is fine to the repository.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19539
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby readie » Wed Sep 09, 2015 1:42 pm 1 person likes this post

I copied text both to support and Forum . .
Bob Eadie
Computer Manager at Bedford School, UK (since 1999).
Veeam user since 2009.
readie
Expert
 
Posts: 156
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:29 am
Full Name: Bob Eadie

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:45 pm

Bob,
While the support team is still investigating, may ask if the backup to very same repository but set as Shared folder destination works instead? Thanks
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby readie » Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:23 pm

It isn't at the moment a shared folder, but I could create a share on the server and try a CIFS connection?
Bob Eadie
Computer Manager at Bedford School, UK (since 1999).
Veeam user since 2009.
readie
Expert
 
Posts: 156
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:29 am
Full Name: Bob Eadie

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:53 pm

Yes, the reason why I am asking – to be precise that VBR is not involved.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Problems after hardware change

Veeam Logoby readie » Mon Sep 14, 2015 1:50 pm

Further info.
I have now looked more closely at our B&R server, which shows that the backups were going fine to this server Server35V up until the date when my HD was cloned onto a new HD in a new box. I can still see all the previous restore points, and can go in to restore from them. They are all in Backups/Disk (imported) rather than in backups/disk which is where I expected them to be?
I'm still guessing that there was a change in the HD GUID or something??
I am tempted to remove these from backups, to (perhaps) force another full backup?
I am reluctant to change to fileshare backups, now I am convinced that it was working to this respository until a few weeks ago.
Bob
Bob Eadie
Computer Manager at Bedford School, UK (since 1999).
Veeam user since 2009.
readie
Expert
 
Posts: 156
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:29 am
Full Name: Bob Eadie

Next

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests