Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
DukeR
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 15, 2017 6:44 am
Full Name: Michael
Contact:

Question Upgrade Windows Agent from Free to "Standard"?

Post by DukeR » Oct 23, 2018 3:45 pm

Hi all

We do have a customer which we want to migrate from the free version of the agent to the normal one, so we can manage these agent within Veeam B&R.

1) Do we need to buy another license for Veeam B&R as well? So is it needed to buy enterprise or enterprise pus?
2) Can we upgrade the clients via the Veeam B&R server or we have to uninstall and install the agent again and manually?
3) Can we retain the backup job settings and chain or is it going to be a new one after the Upgrade to the managed one?

Thank you very much and best regards
DukeR

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 790 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Question Upgrade Windows Agent from Free to "Standard"?

Post by Dima P. » Oct 23, 2018 5:03 pm

Hi Michael.

Veeam Agent license is currently independent from Veeam B&R license and it does not have edition (only workstation / server counters).
Do we need to buy another license for Veeam B&R as well? So is it needed to buy enterprise or enterprise pus?
You can use Veeam B&R Free but with agent license to unlock the agent management functionality.
an we upgrade the clients via the Veeam B&R server or we have to uninstall and install the agent again and manually?
That's not going to the upgrade (more like a full redeployment of every installed agent) but yes - you can do that via Veeam B&R console with a few clicks.
Can we retain the backup job settings and chain or is it going to be a new one after the Upgrade to the managed one?
No that won't work. Backup jobs should be built from scratch via Veeam B&R console (you can create one job for all your agents instead of creating backup job on every single agent manually). Important note: your backup chain will be started from scratch, so first full backup is required.

DukeR
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 15, 2017 6:44 am
Full Name: Michael
Contact:

Re: Question Upgrade Windows Agent from Free to "Standard"?

Post by DukeR » Oct 24, 2018 6:46 am

Hi and thank you very much for this valuable information!

Cheers

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 13 guests