VEB and remote sites

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

VEB and remote sites

Veeam Logoby Pat490 » Thu Jan 21, 2016 8:50 am

I have one remote site with slow connection. Now I want to backup physical server from remote site with VEB to my main B&R repository. Can I do my first initial VEB backup e.g. to a local USB drive, than copy USB drive to my repository and after continue to incremental backup with VEB over the slow WAN connection?
Pat490
Expert
 
Posts: 135
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 7:18 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: Patrick

Re: Remote Site

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Jan 21, 2016 12:26 pm

Hi Patrik,
Backup file mapping is not supported for backup files created in locations other than Veeam backup repository.

Unfortunately, that’s the known limitation of the existing release. I hope we will be able to fix that in the next versions.

As a workaround, you may create a local repository at remote site, create a full backup there and then copy such backup to the main site since backup stored in the repository can be mapped to another repository
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Remote Site

Veeam Logoby Pat490 » Thu Jan 21, 2016 1:15 pm

ok. thanks for the answer. Is VEB always forever incremental backup? only 1 time full?
Pat490
Expert
 
Posts: 135
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 7:18 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: Patrick

Re: Remote Site

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Jan 21, 2016 1:41 pm

Yup, VEB uses forever forward incremental approach.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Remote Site

Veeam Logoby Pat490 » Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:10 am

ok over the weekend I did backup the remote server. It took 30hours but it worked.
strange thing is that it took 12 retries before the backup finally started!

the email notification shows always "The specified host is unknown. Job has been stopped..." (my own translation). which host does it mean? VBR server or target repository? which logs can I check for further investigation?

my other 2 remote servers did backup without any error to the same repository before.
Pat490
Expert
 
Posts: 135
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 7:18 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: Patrick

Re: Remote Site

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:01 pm

strange thing is that it took 12 retries before the backup finally started!

This might happen due connection drops
which host does it mean? VBR server or target repository? which logs can I check for further investigation?

Open a support case from the affected VEB machine (VEB Control Panel > Support > Technical Support) and post the case Id to this thread please. I'll ask QA team to check VEB logs to identify the root cause.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Remote Site

Veeam Logoby Pat490 » Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:38 pm

case opened with #01676578
Pat490
Expert
 
Posts: 135
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 7:18 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: Patrick

Re: Remote Site

Veeam Logoby Pat490 » Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:04 pm

I had just been informed that our service provider had a power outage last weekend. that explains our problems at that time!
Pat490
Expert
 
Posts: 135
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 7:18 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: Patrick

Re: Remote Site

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:22 am

Patrick,

Thanks for the heads up. Anyway, it seems that we need to enhance the connectivity behavior between VEB and repository (make it more like the download manager to avoid long connection drops) – so thanks for submitting the logs.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

VEB and remote sites

Veeam Logoby jhh » Wed Jan 27, 2016 8:31 am 1 person likes this post

Have now been testing VEB on a couple of remote sites backing up over WAN links (20 Mbit/s) to our existing Veeam Backup and Replication repository in our datacenter. File level backup mode is used. It works but takes forever even if there are only small or none incremental changes of backup data.

I use network throttling and limit it to 18 Mbit/s during night time and 5 Mbit/s during day/workhours and it works ok when transferring backup data. Then VEB starts with some kind of file scanning/inventory of backup files on the repository which saturate the links completely and takes forever since it seems to scan through all backup data files.

Example of backup with no new or changed data :
Image

Found this thread http://forums.veeam.com/post152272.html?hilit=calculate%20digest#p152272 which describes the same issue as Problem 1 and the solution seems to be to create a local Repository which I think is a bad workaround. If we were to use a local repository we would first need to invest in new backup storage on every site and then create backup copy jobs which has the disadvantage of losing all security groups on backup files if used with VEB backups if I understood it correctly.
Would really like to use only one backup solution for both virtual and physical but in this type of scenario VEB does not meet my expectations or is there a solution to this except from creating local repositories?
jhh
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:26 am
Full Name: Johan Hultqvist

Re: VEB and remote sites

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Jan 27, 2016 11:01 pm

Veeam Endpoint Backup Free is not designed for a backup over the slow WAN links – that is true. Keeping this mind, I do see that described behavior is far from expected, so please open a case thru Control Panel > Technical Support and post case ID to this thread. Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: VEB and remote sites

Veeam Logoby Pat490 » Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:57 am

how about network traffic anyway? when I check traffic stats for the wan connection there is still a lot of traffic on 2nd incremental backup. But more incoming than outgoing to B&R Repository? Does it have to transfer first the full backup (.vbk) back to remote server to check what is changed and than only transfer new incremental .vib?

Image

I do not understand the long time incoming traffic to remote site during last incremental backup (green)
Pat490
Expert
 
Posts: 135
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 7:18 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: Patrick

Re: VEB and remote sites

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:30 pm

Hello Patrick,

To clarify, is that a resource monitor screenshot or some router/firewall statistics?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: VEB and remote sites

Veeam Logoby Pat490 » Fri Feb 05, 2016 8:57 am

router statistics
Pat490
Expert
 
Posts: 135
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 7:18 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: Patrick

Re: VEB and remote sites

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Feb 05, 2016 3:28 pm

Thanks. VEB job should receive the info about the exising blocks at the repository that is why you see the incoming traffic at the router monitor. The size of these digests is not comparable with the full backup size, so we are talking about several megabytes here.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Next

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests