Remove beta license from console

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

[MERGED] Free agent backups failing

Veeam Logoby renwich » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:03 am

Hi, I recently installed the veeam windows backup trial licence, now my endpoint backups are failing

"Veeam agents can only use advanced backup functionality when backing up to licensed versions of Veeam Backup & Replication."

will I need to install the windows agent now to get these working..?
renwich
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 7:47 am
Full Name: Richard Cooke

[MERGED] Free agent backups failing

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:22 am

Hi Richard,

First: Welcome to the forums!

Am I correct in thinking that you tried the Veeam Agent for Windows (beta) with a trial license to protect the data to a Veeam Backup & Replication repository? And that you also have Veeam Endpoint Backup (1.5) installed and that those were also pointing to that same VBR repository?

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2972
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

[MERGED] Free agent backups failing

Veeam Logoby renwich » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:26 am

Yes thanks for the welcome, your assumptions are correct
renwich
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 7:47 am
Full Name: Richard Cooke

[MERGED] Free agent backups failing

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:31 am

Richard,

I'm afraid this is not a supported scenario. From the moment you add a license into B&R, it expects that every agent (or endpoint) that connects to a B&R repository will then consume a license. Unfortunately, 1.5 does not have that licensing logic so it cannot work anymore.

As far as I know, to get your endpoints running again, you will need to remove that license.

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2972
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

[MERGED] Free agent backups failing

Veeam Logoby renwich » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:34 am

thanks for the response, I thought this would be the case, how do I remove the licence, the licence manager does not appear to give me the option
renwich
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 7:47 am
Full Name: Richard Cooke

[MERGED] Free agent backups failing

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:38 am

I believe it should succeed on B&R server like this:

Code: Select all
Veeam.Backup.Manager.exe -removelicense vaw


But if you have installed it through Enterprise Manager you need this:

Code: Select all
Veeam.Backup.EnterpriseService.exe -removelicense vaw
(on the EM server)

Let me know if it worked
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2972
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

[MERGED] Free agent backups failing

Veeam Logoby renwich » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:54 am

Thanks for your assistance this solution has worked.
renwich
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 7:47 am
Full Name: Richard Cooke

[MERGED] Free agent backups failing

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Apr 03, 2017 8:00 am

Sweet! thanks for letting us know
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2972
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Previous

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Paco_glt and 14 guests