Removing backup job from UI?

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Removing backup job from UI?

Veeam Logoby regbad1 » Sun May 14, 2017 1:43 pm

Hi all!

Just installed VAW on my desktop with Win7Pro x64.
Wanted to do testing simple [b]file backup[/b] from desktop to NAS.
Here some questions:
1) I've searched user guide with keyword 'delete' and didn't discover [b]how to remove 1 allowed backup job[/b]. Could it be done from user interface? Or it's just by design - user could only reconfigure 1 job or just uninstall VAW with that job?
2) VAW, like Acronis TIH, could not do my simple testing file backup properly. Difference was only TIH even could not start backup job and Veeam could not open backup :) And only Windows 7 default Backup&Restore works like a charm. Good job! :)
regbad1
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 1:23 pm

Re: Removing backup job from UI?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon May 15, 2017 11:25 am

Hi,

First: Welcome to the forums!

1) I am not sure what you mean here: You created a job (for testing) and now you want to "delete" that job? Once you have configured the job (you can only create 1 per VAW client) the way to make a "new one" is to simply edit the job. So no need to reinstall or uninstall. Simply reconfigure the job with new settings and you are good to go
2) Could you explain what job you created (Settings) and what went wrong? If it is simply a backup of some files on your desktop to a NAS repository, then there should not be an issue in recovering those files.
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3150
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Removing backup job from UI?

Veeam Logoby regbad1 » Mon May 15, 2017 11:50 am

Hi, Mike.

1) Very simple user case: I tried software, smth goes wrong, but before uninstalling, I want to 'stop' any activity by removing backup job. Or at least, stop it.
2) Setting very simple: file backup from windows directory to NAS directory (later I tried backup from one local folder to another local, with same error). Backup was done w/o errors. But problem was in restoring: Backup Browser always quit with error smth like that --> "System could not find path" (it is my translation from Russian).
regbad1
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 1:23 pm

Re: Removing backup job from UI?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon May 15, 2017 11:58 am

That really does not look normal. Can you open a support case for it? Through the UI?

Please post the case ID here and the follow-up with support

Much appreciated
Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3150
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Removing backup job from UI?

Veeam Logoby regbad1 » Mon May 15, 2017 12:05 pm

If I understand correctly, in freeware version of VAW I could not open case.
And also, I already uninstalled it.
regbad1
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 1:23 pm

Re: Removing backup job from UI?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon May 15, 2017 12:08 pm

Actually. That is not an issue. We do deliver support, even on the free version. It just does not come with an SLA but we always contact you to fix it.
But since you uninstalled it already I'm afraid that won't work anymore as the logs and so will be gone

Sorry
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3150
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests