Restore Volume to New PC?

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Restore Volume to New PC?

Veeam Logoby rboynton » Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:58 am

I am currently making backups of a PC, but when it comes time to replace that PC, can the latest volume backup be restored to the new PC?
rboynton
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:59 am
Full Name: Rick Boynton

Re: Restore Volume to New PC?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:16 am

Hi Rick,

Yes, you can restore data either to original location or to a new one > Restoring Volumes

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Restore Volume to New PC?

Veeam Logoby rboynton » Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:54 am

Thanks, Vitaliy. I was wondering because of the different HAL associated with the new hardware.
rboynton
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:59 am
Full Name: Rick Boynton

Re: Restore Volume to New PC?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Mar 21, 2016 4:57 pm

Hi Rick,

While performing a Bare Metal Recovery to dissimilar hardware you may need to uncheck the box ‘Inject these drivers into operating system…’ under Tools > Load Drivers to avoid possible driver/hardware conflicts.

Image
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rsanders and 10 guests