Restore: What am I doing wrong?

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Restore: What am I doing wrong?

Veeam Logoby sbbots » Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:11 pm

Testing out VEB today. Installed on a laptop, created recovery media on a CD and ran a full backup.

So now I want to do a bare-metal restore to a new SSD hard drive installed into the laptop. When I boot the recovery CD I get this message:

Image

Am I doing something wrong?
sbbots
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 5:44 pm
Full Name: Matt B

Re: Restore: What am I doing wrong?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Apr 20, 2015 9:53 pm

Hi Matt,
Can you check the BIOS boot settings? Any chance you have Legacy Boot enabled? Are sure that recovery media was created successfully? Thank you in advance.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Restore: What am I doing wrong?

Veeam Logoby sbbots » Mon Apr 20, 2015 9:54 pm 1 person likes this post

Nevermind :oops:

I guess I didn't "Press any key to boot from CD or DVD..." fast enough. I was confused because the message is in Czech. I don't speak Czech. Why did the recovery media creator set my language to Czech? The language is set to English in Windows I have have no language packs installed. [Insert Twilight Zone theme here]
sbbots
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 5:44 pm
Full Name: Matt B

Re: Restore: What am I doing wrong?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Apr 20, 2015 9:57 pm

Thats odd – are you sure that recovery media was not created on a Czech windows OS? I thought it was some kind of Czech error message :mrgreen:
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Restore: What am I doing wrong?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Apr 20, 2015 10:29 pm

I always thought this message is coming from BIOS/UEFI, and not from the actual CD?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Restore: What am I doing wrong?

Veeam Logoby sbbots » Tue Apr 21, 2015 12:07 am 1 person likes this post

I guess it happens from time to time. One of life's great mysteries..

http://windowssecrets.com/forums/showth ... Repair-DVD
sbbots
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 5:44 pm
Full Name: Matt B

Re: Restore: What am I doing wrong?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Apr 21, 2015 5:06 am

Matt,

I have heard this before... Could you go and look into BIOS and make sure your timezone and language is correct? I don't know if that fixes it but I thought that was a solution once (long time ago, I'm getting rusty ;-))
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3150
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Restore: What am I doing wrong?

Veeam Logoby sbbots » Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:26 pm

BIOS is correct. This isn't really a Veeam issue anyway, so the thread is just informational at this point. Thanks for the replies.
sbbots
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 5:44 pm
Full Name: Matt B

Re: Restore: What am I doing wrong?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:12 pm 1 person likes this post

Honestly, you got me attracted to this mystery so I spent several hours walking circles but finally found this funny explanation at the MS KB article:

If there are multiple languages installed, recdisc.exe will select the bootfix.bin file for the first language installed, alphabetically by locale code.

From the: System repair disc boot message may not be localized with the correct language KB.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests