Slow backup speed?

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Slow backup speed?

Veeam Logoby Matze » Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:26 pm

My backup is really slow and I don't know exactly what could be the problem. On my desktop I use 4 Samsung SSD's, 2 of them in a RAID1 mode. My NAS use a RAID5 of 4 x 2TB hard disks and both machines are connected through a gigabit cable connection. If I copy some files directly to the NAS (Windows file transfer), I will get upload speeds between 60-110MB/s. With my backup job I only get 20-30MB/s...

Any idea what I should check?
Matze
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:29 am

Re: Slow backup speed?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jan 27, 2015 5:15 pm

Hello Matze,

The performance rate in Endpoint is in Megabytes, and task manager’s network transfer rate (I assumed you issued it to check the connection speed, right?) is in the Megabits. Keeping in mind that 1 megabit [Mb] = 0.125 megabyte [MB] - your output looks good
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6253
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Slow backup speed?

Veeam Logoby Matze » Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:36 pm

Hello,

sorry for the delay. No, I used the transfer rate from FreeFileSync and Windows Explorer (detailed information while copy some files). Both using Megabytes/second, not Megabit. So the connection should be much more faster while backup with Veeam. Any idea?
Matze
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:29 am

Re: Slow backup speed?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:55 pm

Thanks for the update! We had similar issues described in this post The solution was to tune the router between NAS and Endpoint. From the top of my head: shutting down QoS, tuning the firewall rules and disabling jumbo frames might increase the transfer rate.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6253
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Slow backup speed?

Veeam Logoby Matze » Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:21 am

Ok, I will take a look and give you some feedback as soon as I tested it with the new configuration.
Matze
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:29 am


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests