Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
darkhelmet
Service Provider
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 04, 2010 1:41 pm
Contact:

SQL unavailable

Post by darkhelmet » Jan 19, 2015 10:17 am

I have installed Veeam on W8.1 64-bit with VEB beta.

I get an error when trying to make a backup (the first):

19-1-2015 11:12:09 :: Microsoft SQL server hosting the configuration database is currently unavailable. Possible reasons are heavy load, networking issue, server reboot, or hot backup. Please wait, and try again later. Error information: Cannot insert duplicate key row in object 'dbo.BObjects' with unique index 'IX_BObjects'. The duplicate key value is (6745a759-2205-4cd2-b172-8ec8f7e60ef8, 4c4c4544-005a-3210-8058-b3c04f463132). The statement has been terminated.

SQL services are running, restarting the laptop has no effect. Pausing anti-virus (Avira) has no possitive effect either.
Laptop is nearly idle, backup destination is a USB drive.

I can try to reinstall Veeam, but i'd like to know what's broken....

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5887
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by Mike Resseler » Jan 19, 2015 10:20 am

Hi,

This looks like an interesting issue. the fact that it states that he cannot insert a duplicate key doesn't seem nomal. Could you go to the control panel of Veeam Endpoint Backup, support tab and use the technical support to submit a support case? It might be known already, but I haven't seen the issue yet.

Thanks for your help!

Mike

darkhelmet
Service Provider
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 04, 2010 1:41 pm
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by darkhelmet » Jan 19, 2015 10:21 am

Mike Resseler wrote:Hi,

This looks like an interesting issue. the fact that it states that he cannot insert a duplicate key doesn't seem nomal. Could you go to the control panel of Veeam Endpoint Backup, support tab and use the technical support to submit a support case? It might be known already, but I haven't seen the issue yet.

Thanks for your help!

Mike
it was just submitted: 00730101 :D

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5887
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by Mike Resseler » Jan 19, 2015 10:30 am

Thanks a lot!

Cheers

Mike

darkhelmet
Service Provider
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 04, 2010 1:41 pm
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by darkhelmet » Jan 19, 2015 2:27 pm 1 person likes this post

And i already got a response from support. The described solution worked, although i cant continue on the previous backup.

1. stop EndPoint service
2. execute regedit. go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Endpoint Backup\ and make a new DWORD value recreatedatabase=1
3.restart service
4.delete previously created value
5. at this point we can`t do any FLR yet, you will need to configure a new backup job, save the previous backup folder to a different destination or rename the current folder, because the old backup chain will not be picked up 6. start the backup job, once it`s complete FLR can be run

darkhelmet
Service Provider
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 04, 2010 1:41 pm
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by darkhelmet » Jan 19, 2015 2:30 pm

backup running flawless now. Takes 10:35 for a full

For comparison Symantec System Recovery 2013 R2 takes only 8:15 for exactly the same backup, so even faster. But still Veeam feels fast

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10852
Liked: 897 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by Dima P. » Jan 19, 2015 8:49 pm

darkhelmet,
Glad, you are up and running now.
For comparison Symantec System Recovery 2013 R2 takes only 8:15 for exactly the same backup, so even faster. But still Veeam feels fast
Just to be on the same page these are performance results for full backup run (or it was incremental)?

JoshHawley
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 02, 2015 7:38 pm
Full Name: Josh Hawley
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by JoshHawley » Jun 02, 2015 7:47 pm

Thanks for posting this! I had the same problem, and this worked for me too.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10852
Liked: 897 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by Dima P. » Jun 03, 2015 2:00 pm

P.S. Just do not forget to remove the said registry value once you are up and running – otherwise, it recreates database on every service restart. Thanks.

TroyResources
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 6 times
Joined: May 26, 2015 7:44 am
Full Name: TroyResourcesLimited
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by TroyResources » Jul 13, 2015 1:21 am

Good morning, well this morning my end point reported the very same error.
Thanks for the solution.
After deleting the reg key is it advisable to restart server?
is this fixed in v1.1?

Also to ensure no lose of data I exported disk contents as VDMK for 5 day retention period.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10852
Liked: 897 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by Dima P. » Jul 13, 2015 1:41 pm

Hi,
this morning my end point reported the very same error
Anything changed in regards to your infrastructure? Windows updates or something similar?
After deleting the reg key is it advisable to restart server?
Add the key – Restart the service or restart the machine – Delete the key
is this fixed in v1.1?
We’ve made some improvements for sure.

TroyResources
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 6 times
Joined: May 26, 2015 7:44 am
Full Name: TroyResourcesLimited
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by TroyResources » Jul 14, 2015 1:03 am

Hi @Dima,

Nothing in environment had changed, sorry very common support comment.
Backup is now working thanks to the post by DH.

Thanks for your input...

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10852
Liked: 897 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by Dima P. » Jul 14, 2015 12:03 pm

Good, thanks! As I said before we’ve improved the database handling in the next version, so hopefully is going to cover issues like yours - let’s wait till it released and test it. Meanwhile, if you face this behavior again – please open the support case before recreating the database. Cheers!

TroyResources
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 6 times
Joined: May 26, 2015 7:44 am
Full Name: TroyResourcesLimited
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by TroyResources » Jul 15, 2015 1:13 am

@ Dima, thank for feed back. If this scenario does present itself again I will certainly pen a support ticket.

Cheers!

wkmiller
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 17, 2013 10:09 pm
Full Name: wayne miller
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by wkmiller » Jul 17, 2015 4:09 am

Thanks for the post - one of the workstations was having this issue and the database recreate worked!
Wayne Miller
Quad-B Systems
949.310.5718 c

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10852
Liked: 897 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by Dima P. » Jul 17, 2015 1:11 pm

Hi Wayne,

Did you see any suspicious activities at the said workstation? Could the Operating System be recently updated? Thanks

Jan1
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 29, 2014 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by Jan1 » May 05, 2016 8:19 pm

Hi,

I had exactly the same error in VEB 1.5.0.316. Recreate database helped but it looks that this problem still exists.

Jan

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10852
Liked: 897 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by Dima P. » May 12, 2016 12:45 pm

Hi Jan,

Have you raised a support case? Thanks.

motoxrdr21
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 30, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Steve Galambos
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by motoxrdr21 » May 16, 2016 12:36 pm

The RecreateDatabase solution listed in this thread would probably be a good candidate for a KB article to fix a corrupt configuration db. I just had a similar issue with the latest 1.5 where backups failed with a SQL timeout error, tried multiple reinstalls & a couple other solutions before stumbling on this, which worked flawlessly.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10852
Liked: 897 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: SQL unavailable

Post by Dima P. » May 16, 2016 5:00 pm

Steve,

Thank you for the heads up. Can you clarify were you backup files fully operation after you fixed this issue?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ctx189 and 24 guests