Start from scratch - how to on a pc?

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Start from scratch - how to on a pc?

Veeam Logoby slewis1972 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 8:39 am

I want to reset fully a Endpoint Backup Job. Its linked with Veeam endpoint backup and replication server.

I've deleted the details from the server - how do I reset the backup locally on a system?

Thnaks
slewis1972
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:34 am
Full Name: Scott Lewis

Re: Start from scratch - how to on a pc?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Sep 22, 2015 9:16 am

Scott,

Are you going to go to a new target? If so, in that case just change your backup configuration and VEB will detect that it needs to make a new full and of he goes...

If you re going to go back to the Backup & Replication server, then VEB should again detect that there is no data anymore and make a full again.

If the case is different, let me know

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3161
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Start from scratch - how to on a pc?

Veeam Logoby slewis1972 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 11:20 am

Tagret is the same.

Removed from VBR server, plus deleted copy on file server.

I want to reset the config locally as keeps wanting to reuse the old settings and come sup with same error about no object id.
slewis1972
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:34 am
Full Name: Scott Lewis

Re: Start from scratch - how to on a pc?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Sep 22, 2015 1:33 pm

slewis1972,
Just to clarify. You want to change the Endpoint backup job, right? And when you do - it won’t let you to save the settings or something else?

Or maybe we are talking about resetting the statistics from the main screen (the bar chart) with still displays the information about the restore points that were manually deleted?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Start from scratch - how to on a pc?

Veeam Logoby slewis1972 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 2:10 pm

No, I want to wipe all traces of the current backup off my system ( both pc and server ), so I can reset up from scratch.

Whats the process?
slewis1972
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:34 am
Full Name: Scott Lewis

Re: Start from scratch - how to on a pc?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Sep 22, 2015 2:15 pm

Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Start from scratch - how to on a pc?

Veeam Logoby slewis1972 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 2:53 pm

Perfect, thats needs to be in a FAQ somewhere.

Thanks again .
slewis1972
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:34 am
Full Name: Scott Lewis

Re: Start from scratch - how to on a pc?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Sep 22, 2015 3:01 pm

You are welcome. This key was used to fix the windows 10 update issues and, indeed, there is a KB: it addresses a different problem, though - thats why I said it’s a hack :wink:

P.S. Don’t forget to remove the said key – otherwise DB will be recreated after every restart.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests