Stupid question....

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:26 pm

No, it means you will have 1 full backup and 6 incrementals. So maybe indeed we need to check to make it less confusing :-)

Understood and noted about the missing backup through the boot media. Your vote is counted for this feature request
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3382
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:27 pm

If you define 7 points you will have 1 full backup and 6 incrementals and on the specific day we will create an active full followed by incrementals till the day is reached again.

Have a look at the userguide for more information (this also applies to the agent): https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95
And the info on Synthetic full can be found here: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1633
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby cloggy » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:42 pm

I read both articles but what I have not found is where to specify how many backup sets (one full + n incrementals) you want to keep...

As nobody has been able to answer this question, I assume that there is no option for it and VAW Free keeps creating these backup sets until the disk is full...unless old backup sets are deleted manually.... :(
cloggy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:22 am
Full Name: Dick Hoogendoorn

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:59 pm

The amount of points you keep is set per job. If you set it to 14 you have 1 full + 13 incr, set it to 100 and you get 1 full + 99 incr.

We won't keep making backups until the disk is full (unless you define too many restore points) :-). We automatically merge the oldest incremental in the full file when reaching the defined number (if it is 7 we will do a merge on day 8 and merge the incremental of day 2 in to the full backup).

If you use synthetic full & active full the same applies in regards of the total points configured in your job.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1633
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby cloggy » Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:40 am

Hello Niels, thanks for your reply but either I don't understand your answer or my original question has still not been answered: where can I define how many backup sets I want keep? Again, I want to perform a new backup set every Friday, where can I specify how many of these backup sets need to be kept?

In Acronis, and many other backup programs, you can specify you want to keep f.i. 3 complete backup sets (one full and a number of incrementals or differentials). After the fourth backup cycle has been completed , the oldest backup set will automatically be deleted. Does this mechanism also exist in VAW?

IMHO, my question is simple but for one reason or the other (maybe I haven't explained it very well) I cannot get a clear answer to it. Maybe it's time for me to forget about VAW and keep using Macrium Reflect Free.
cloggy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:22 am
Full Name: Dick Hoogendoorn

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Wed Apr 12, 2017 11:35 am

By default we won't work with "sets" as you compare with other solutions. We work with restore points and based on the setup you can get those "sets" you are talking about.

In the agent you could put the amount of restore points to 28 and a synthethic full every week. This would result in 4 full backups with 6 incrementals per full (24 in total).

Also if you send backups to a Veeam Backup & Replication repository you could use backup copy job with GFS.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1633
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby cloggy » Wed Apr 12, 2017 12:32 pm

Thanks Niels, that answer makes more sense to me.. Let me give it a try..
cloggy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:22 am
Full Name: Dick Hoogendoorn

Previous

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest