Synhtetic Full Back

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Synhtetic Full Back

Veeam Logoby bahooo » Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:28 am

Hi,

As I tested, full backup of Veeam endpoint backs up just as Synthetic Backup. For example,
when I select 4 restore point, after 4th restore point, it adds last inc to last full backup. But I want to make only get new full backup (Not synthetic backup). But I couldn't find the option to change it.

Thanks.
bahooo
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 7:15 pm
Full Name: bahadir selin

Re: Synhtetic Full Back

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:07 am 1 person likes this post

Hi,
At this moment with VEB you cannot change this. We only have synthetic as you describe above. You can always make a standalone full if you want to (but that has no retention so you need to remove it yourself after some time) and with the commands you can even use task scheduler or similar to schedule it.

May I ask what your reason is to take a new full backup instead of a synthetic?

Thanks

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3097
Liked: 359 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Synhtetic Full Back

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:06 pm 1 person likes this post

True – there is not active full or synthetic full functionality in the existing version. The only option you have is to use a standalone full backup

The requested options, however, will become available in the upcoming major release. If you are interested feel free to watch the recording of product announcements here.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6074
Liked: 433 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Synhtetic Full Back

Veeam Logoby bahooo » Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:43 pm

Thank you for reply. Actually, we are currently testing the product. Right now, we are now using Retrospect but if we switch to Veeam, we would like to back up our physical servers data as well. So, now, I want to see bandwidth performance for full backup on every week. So, it will let me know estimated times.
Because, yesterday, I understood that it is backing up synthetic. just I wanted to make sure that I am not wrong:)

Thank you, we will look forward upcoming releases.
bahooo
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 7:15 pm
Full Name: bahadir selin

Re: Synhtetic Full Back

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu Sep 22, 2016 5:07 am

Bahadir,

So taking a Standalone full backup should give you that estimated time, as it is literally a full backup

Cheers
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3097
Liked: 359 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 14 guests