Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
atta
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 04, 2013 7:22 am
Full Name: Atta Kat
Contact:

Take backup on NAS

Post by atta » Apr 20, 2015 7:03 am

Hello,

We have a client with NAS. Is it possible to take backup on NAS systems wiht ENDPOINT?

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4988
Liked: 525 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Take backup on NAS

Post by Mike Resseler » Apr 20, 2015 7:04 am

Hi,

Taking backups from your windows clients and use that NAS as a backup target is indeed possible

Cheers

Mike

atta
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 04, 2013 7:22 am
Full Name: Atta Kat
Contact:

Re: Take backup on NAS

Post by atta » Apr 20, 2015 7:12 am

Hello Mike,

Maybe I didn't type correct with understanding. We have a client who has NAS system like backup. Is it possible to take backup on that NAS and migrate it to somewhere else?

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4988
Liked: 525 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Take backup on NAS

Post by Mike Resseler » Apr 20, 2015 7:14 am

You mean backup the files that are on that NAS system? In that case it is not possible I'm afraid.

atta
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 04, 2013 7:22 am
Full Name: Atta Kat
Contact:

Re: Take backup on NAS

Post by atta » Apr 20, 2015 7:37 am

Thank you Mike, One more question. Can we send backup over the internet or we need to have example NAS on our local network (with shared folder) to be able to save it.

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4988
Liked: 525 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Take backup on NAS

Post by Mike Resseler » Apr 20, 2015 7:40 am

You can send everything over the internet as long as you open up the firewall ports and the other side is reachable over the internet :-)

The question is, do you want to do this. As for now, Veeam Endpoint Backup was not designed for this, so yes, a local share or NAS (or removable device) would be the best option, unless you can use a VPN to that remote location. That works also

atta
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 04, 2013 7:22 am
Full Name: Atta Kat
Contact:

Re: Take backup on NAS

Post by atta » Apr 20, 2015 11:14 am

Thank you Mike

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8780
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Take backup on NAS

Post by Dima P. » Apr 20, 2015 3:53 pm

Atta,
Does you NAS support iSCSI? If yes you can mount the NAS volume to the machine with Veeam Endpoint Backup installed and back it up as a regular volume.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests