Take backup on NAS

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Take backup on NAS

Veeam Logoby atta » Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:03 am

Hello,

We have a client with NAS. Is it possible to take backup on NAS systems wiht ENDPOINT?
atta
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:22 am
Full Name: Atta Kat

Re: Take backup on NAS

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:04 am

Hi,

Taking backups from your windows clients and use that NAS as a backup target is indeed possible

Cheers

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3173
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Take backup on NAS

Veeam Logoby atta » Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:12 am

Hello Mike,

Maybe I didn't type correct with understanding. We have a client who has NAS system like backup. Is it possible to take backup on that NAS and migrate it to somewhere else?
atta
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:22 am
Full Name: Atta Kat

Re: Take backup on NAS

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:14 am

You mean backup the files that are on that NAS system? In that case it is not possible I'm afraid.
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3173
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Take backup on NAS

Veeam Logoby atta » Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:37 am

Thank you Mike, One more question. Can we send backup over the internet or we need to have example NAS on our local network (with shared folder) to be able to save it.
atta
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:22 am
Full Name: Atta Kat

Re: Take backup on NAS

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:40 am

You can send everything over the internet as long as you open up the firewall ports and the other side is reachable over the internet :-)

The question is, do you want to do this. As for now, Veeam Endpoint Backup was not designed for this, so yes, a local share or NAS (or removable device) would be the best option, unless you can use a VPN to that remote location. That works also
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3173
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Take backup on NAS

Veeam Logoby atta » Mon Apr 20, 2015 11:14 am

Thank you Mike
atta
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:22 am
Full Name: Atta Kat

Re: Take backup on NAS

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:53 pm

Atta,
Does you NAS support iSCSI? If yes you can mount the NAS volume to the machine with Veeam Endpoint Backup installed and back it up as a regular volume.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests