Truncate

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Truncate

Veeam Logoby chriskeuk » Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:45 pm

Hello,

I have an Exchange server that we are needing to backup and we ran a backup on a database. Is it suppose to truncate the logs? If so, how do we enable that option or how are we suppose to setup the backup?

Thanks!
chriskeuk
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:42 pm
Full Name: Chris Keuk

Re: Truncate

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:56 pm

Hello Chris and welcome to the community!
If an application on the computer uses transaction logs to maintain the database consistency, Veeam Endpoint Backup automatically truncates transaction logs upon successful backup.
Note that Veeam Endpoint Service runs under the LocalSystem account. On Microsoft SQL Server 2012, this account does not have necessary permissions to truncate transaction logs. If you want Veeam Endpoint Backup to automatically truncate transaction logs, you need to manually add the LocalSystem account to a group that has the SQL Server System Administrator rights.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4516
Liked: 361 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Truncate

Veeam Logoby chriskeuk » Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:52 pm

Ok. I'll add the LocalSystem account to an administrator group on the SQL Server.

So, when I configure a backup, do I need to select a database and the log files or do I just select the database?
chriskeuk
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:42 pm
Full Name: Chris Keuk

Re: Truncate

Veeam Logoby chriskeuk » Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:27 pm

Could I run the backup under the admin login? Will that make a difference. Sorry for these question but I'm fairly new to Veeam and it looks like our exchange server will crash by tomorrow because of the log files.
chriskeuk
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:42 pm
Full Name: Chris Keuk

Re: Truncate

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:33 am

Chris,

I am a bit confused honestly. Are we talking SQL or Exchange? In the case of Exchange, the admin most probably has the correct rights to do the truncation and therefore the truncation will automatically happen at the end of the successful backup. Are you seeing it differently? Please don't forget to include the system volumes also, otherwise truncation won't happen

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2756
Liked: 338 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Truncate

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:56 pm

Hi chriskeuk,

What backup mode are you using? Exchange is installed on the server OS, right?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5834
Liked: 417 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests