Use Veeam Endpoint iso to restore server

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Use Veeam Endpoint iso to restore server

Veeam Logoby frankive » Tue Jan 19, 2016 4:24 pm

Hi.
is it possible to use a generic Veeam Endpoitn Recovery ISO and f.ex restore a virtual server which we have taken backup of with Veeam B&R to restore it to another hypervisor or physical machine? Or is the backupfiles technically different?


Thanks.
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Use Veeam Endpoint iso to restore server

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jan 19, 2016 5:03 pm

Hi Frank,

Backup format is the same – metadata is a bit different. What type of restore are we talking about?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6239
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Use Veeam Endpoint iso to restore server

Veeam Logoby frankive » Tue Jan 19, 2016 8:44 pm

we will backup a netscaler appliance (linux) on a hyper-v server.
We will then transfer it itno a KVM-hypervisor environment. The provider wont use the KVM Netscaller appliance for some compability reasons, so I though perhaps if I backup from the hyper-v server, creates a Veeam Endpont .iso with the bootable receovery environment, create a vm in the kvm-environemen and boot from the .iso and attach a virtual drive with the backup files, it would perhaps restore it just fine?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Use Veeam Endpoint iso to restore server

Veeam Logoby frankive » Sat Jan 23, 2016 11:06 am

so far we just get a bluescreen in kvm when we try to start a vm with the endpoint .iso recovery, but we will lab some more :)
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 719
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Use Veeam Endpoint iso to restore server

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sun Jan 24, 2016 12:30 am

Try disabling driver injection, this should help.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests