VAW 2.0 to VBR - Multiple Machines Same Name

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

VAW 2.0 to VBR - Multiple Machines Same Name

Veeam Logoby gatorheelz » Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:57 pm

We have a couple of segregated environments (think prod/dev/test) in AWS that we'd like to use VAW2 to backup to our VBR. Each of the AWS environments has a set of servers that have common Windows computer/NETBIOS names. Unfortunately we do not have an option to rename the machines easily.

We have found that after installing VAW2, the second machine with the same name is not able verify the license after entering the server address and credentials. It eventually times out after a few minutes.

Are there any known workarounds for this issue?
gatorheelz
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:38 pm
Full Name: Wyn Bryant

Re: VAW 2.0 to VBR - Multiple Machines Same Name

Veeam Logoby gatorheelz » Mon Jun 19, 2017 10:03 pm

Just to add, we have attempted using a different agent account on the VBR as well as a different destination repository without success.
gatorheelz
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:38 pm
Full Name: Wyn Bryant

Re: VAW 2.0 to VBR - Multiple Machines Same Name

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Jun 20, 2017 4:32 am

Hmmm,

I doubt this is going to be possible as we use the computer name in combination with something hardware based (can't remember anymore what it is) to identify.
Since you can't easily rename the machines, would it be an option to have 3 VBR instances? (They can be virtual, doesn't have to be all physical boxes). With Enterprise Manager you can manage those 3
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3381
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: VAW 2.0 to VBR - Multiple Machines Same Name

Veeam Logoby gatorheelz » Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:52 am

Issue might be unrelated to the computer name as when I installed VBR in a local instance and attempted to configure the VAW2 instances to connect to it, we still had an issue connecting.

Will contact support.
gatorheelz
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:38 pm
Full Name: Wyn Bryant

Re: VAW 2.0 to VBR - Multiple Machines Same Name

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:54 am

OK. You did gave the right people access to the repository? https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/agent ... tml?ver=20
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3381
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: VAW 2.0 to VBR - Multiple Machines Same Name

Veeam Logoby gatorheelz » Tue Jun 20, 2017 3:24 pm

Yes, and we've tried a couple of combinations:
VAW2 Free to VBR, VAW2 Server to VBR, VAW1.5 to VBR, VAW2 to VCC.

None of these work. The VBR and VCC are in a different environment than primary, so the root issue is not the computer name as I initially suspected.
gatorheelz
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:38 pm
Full Name: Wyn Bryant

Re: VAW 2.0 to VBR - Multiple Machines Same Name

Veeam Logoby gatorheelz » Tue Jun 20, 2017 3:32 pm

We have 6 other VAW2 Server machines in the same environment (AWS) that do not have this license/connectivity issue.
gatorheelz
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:38 pm
Full Name: Wyn Bryant

Re: VAW 2.0 to VBR - Multiple Machines Same Name

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:19 pm

Ok. (Well not OK but...) Do you already have a support number/ case?
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3381
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest