VEB to Veeam repository

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

VEB to Veeam repository

Veeam Logoby kjparker » Mon May 09, 2016 11:35 pm

I am trying to setup a routine backup of a number of clients in our remote office in another state. I have a wan VPN connection to this site, and they would be able to connect to our Veeam infrastructure in the head office, however I do not wish to be pushing their backup data across the wan at this time.

I have a server in this office that I can configure as a repository on my veeam server in head office, however I do not know how this will behave with regards to data transfer. The remote repository will be on the same physical lan as the clients being backed up.

Will the clients connect directly to this location, and not send the data to the wan and back, or will it all go through the main veeam server?

Other than backing up to a file share, is there any other options to achieve what I am looking for?
kjparker
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 11:54 pm
Full Name: Keith Parker

Re: VEB to Veeam repository

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue May 10, 2016 8:48 pm

Keith,

Can you elaborate what type of repository you set at the remote site? Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: VEB to Veeam repository

Veeam Logoby kjparker » Wed May 11, 2016 9:15 pm

I have not as yet created the repository, however I was going to use my veeam server in head office to add an additional repository on it, located on the remote server, which I would in turn configure the VEB clients to use.

Is there a particular type of repository I should be using?
kjparker
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 11:54 pm
Full Name: Keith Parker

Re: VEB to Veeam repository

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed May 11, 2016 11:44 pm

You can use any type of repository. Just in case you set up a CIFS share do not forget that Gateway server should be locaded on the second site – otherwise the traffic will flow thru the VBR server (which is set as default gateway server for CIFS repo).
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests