Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
carlosxxiiitech
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Carlos Mauricio Ruiz

Veeam Agent fo Windows and Outlook Files

Post by carlosxxiiitech »

Hi Guys,

I'm quite new with veeam, although I've been working with the app the last 6 months, and everithing went well until last week.

Here some context:
I did an installation where I got two Windows Server Essentials 2016. One of it is the client's fileserver (Server A), the other one (Server B) is configured as a file server but it is in a different location to serve as the backup target. I installed and configured Veeam Agent for Windows on Server A, using file level backup with High Compression, and WAN Storage optimization. Everything went well, the calculations were good for the amount of data.

Last week my client, asks me if we could configure a backup for three laptops: Three VPs of the compay. They got some serious information so they need to backed it up and also encrypted it. So I configure the laptops like this:
- File Level Backup
- Optimal Compression
- Wan Storage Optimization
- Encryption.
- The backup target is the Server B. The remote one.

The data were some folder AND the outlook files folder. They need to backup the .pst archives for each VP.

After a week the Server B was full. Every incremental backup of the VPs are almost the same size of the full one. I run some tests on my pc and I guess the problem is with the .pst files. I guess Changed Block Tracking mechanism is not working properly and can't detect and partition the blocks that are changing in the .pst file.

I'd like to know if anyone has this problem, how they fix it (Different than add some more capacity to the target).

Thank you a lot guys.

Regards from Colombia!
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1576 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam Agent fo Windows and Outlook Files

Post by Dima P. »

Hello Carlos.