Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby iftikarsaeedi » Mon Feb 27, 2017 10:07 am

Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 will be supporting Microsoft cluster or not.
iftikarsaeedi
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 9:57 am
Full Name: IWS

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Feb 27, 2017 10:53 am

Hi iftikarsaeedi,

Veeam Agent for Windows 2.0 is not cluster aware, so you can’t protect the whole cluster but it’s possible to backup a single node as a regular server.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5947
Liked: 421 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby iftikarsaeedi » Mon Feb 27, 2017 11:03 am

Thanks Dima for a quick reply.
I have a scenario:

We have virtual machine configured in Microsoft windows cluster ( 2 Node cluster) for file server with raw disk mapping.
As raw disk mapping is there we are perfroming backup from Veeam agent for Microsoft windows and using repository as veem backup and replication server 9.5.

Issue faced:
When Node 1 is having resource then backup is saved on veeam backup and replication repository which takes space around 2 TB.
But when cluster is moving to second node then again backup is saved on veeam backup and replication repository which takes space around 2 TB, So
we require 4 TB of space on repository.

therefore we require 2 times space on repository server, So is there any way we can avoid using twice the space.
iftikarsaeedi
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 9:57 am
Full Name: IWS

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:02 am

Hi,

As Dima stated, because VAW 2.0 is not cluster aware, it is not possible to avoid this at this point in time. A question though, is it the idea to have a fixed node running all the time (or as much as possible?) Say Node 1? The reason I ask is that in most cases (not all obviously) a cluster is setup and the idea is that cluster node 1 is running the resources as much as possible, only failover when maintenance need to be done or there is actually an issue with it.

If that is the case, then only protecting one node should normally be enough to be protected. Only during maintenance times you would be without protection but I assume you don't want those periods to be long anyway :-)

Makes sense? Possibility?

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2983
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby ChuckS42 » Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:36 pm

Will it be cluster aware in the future? This is important for us.
ChuckS42
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 60
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:53 pm
Full Name: Chuck Stevens

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Mar 01, 2017 7:31 am 1 person likes this post

Chuck,

This is indeed one of the items on our list. I can't give you any ETA but it is certainly foreseen for the future

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2983
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby Jackf » Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:34 pm

Hi Mike,

I also have a requirement for VAM to be cluster aware.

Is this actively in development? should i hold out for this feature to be available in the next version?

Thanks
Jack
Jackf
Service Provider
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 9:26 pm
Full Name: Jack Firth

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Mar 10, 2017 8:10 am

Jack,

While I am not going to make any promises, this is indeed something which is high on our radar. It won't be there in VAW 2.0 (so the next version that is now in Beta) but since this is probably the most requested feature for VAW vNext...
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2983
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby SRMETAS » Fri Mar 24, 2017 9:37 am

We want to get rid of our Backup Exec an install VAW on our Failover Cluster Fileserver. So i hope you implement thos cluster awareness in a future version soon ;-)
SRMETAS
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:59 am
Full Name: Simon Roggli

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:30 pm

Hello Simon,

Thanks for sharing, your voice has been heard :wink:
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5947
Liked: 421 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby iftikarsaeedi » Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:52 am

Thanks will be awaiting for this feature eagerly
iftikarsaeedi
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 9:57 am
Full Name: IWS

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby the_mentor » Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:45 pm

I want to +1 this feature request.
This is the only thing that keeps some of my clients from fully switching to veeam.
the_mentor
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 37
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:10 pm
Full Name: DeMentor

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Apr 03, 2017 5:39 am

Hi the_mentor,

Noted and just like with the others, your voice has been heard ;-)

Can you let us know what typical cluster your clients use? Is it DAG / Always-ON? / Standard MSFT cluster? Active-Passive or Active-Active?
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2983
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby rasmusan » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:42 am

+1 for this as well

have customers running physical MS clusters (traditional FCI cluster) with SQL etc., who would very much like to get rid of their Backup Exec, as these Physical clusters is the only reason for still having BE running...
rasmusan
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 9:03 pm
Full Name: Rasmus Andersen

Re: Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.0 Microsoft cluster

Veeam Logoby lmbutault » Wed Apr 19, 2017 10:18 am

+1 for cluster support.
Need for regular Filesystem Failover clusters.

regards
lmbutault
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:11 pm
Full Name: Louis-Marie BUTAULT

Next

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests