Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby bdoe » Wed Nov 16, 2016 6:51 pm

Has anyone used Endpoint on a machine running Windows Media Center? I'm trying to use it to backup the whole system, which has Windows 7 on an SSD and a separate hard drive for recording. I've tried both entire computer backups and volume level. It will back up the SSD fine, but on the hard drive it is completely skipping the .wtv files in the Recorded TV folder. It will backup the temprec folder in there, so it does not appear to be outright skipping the directory.

Any ideas? I run Endpoint on plenty of machines at work, as well as other personal systems, and have never seen it skip files, especially not volume level. I've tried resetting the database in hopes it was a configuration problem. The only thing I can think of that hasn't been tried yet is a backup when WMC is closed, but even if the files were open I thought Veeam could handle it. They are also OTA recordings, not cable with DRM, although that shouldn't affect it either.
bdoe
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 61
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:48 pm
Full Name: Bryan

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Nov 16, 2016 6:57 pm

I have never used it on a Windows Media Center.

On the volume level, we actually do automatic skipping of certain paths and files, however, I have not heard of the .wtv exclusion. We exclude these: temporary files folder, Recycle Bin, Microsoft Windows pagefile, hibernate file and VSS snapshot files from the System Volume Information folder.

What is the directory that those files are stored in?

Thanks

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3165
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby bdoe » Wed Nov 16, 2016 7:02 pm

I have the folder at the root of the drive, so D:\Recorded TV. There's nothing but several hundred .wtv files in there. I believe I saw it did also copy a second folder at the root of the drive, but that one is empty on the HTPC. I do need to place some other type of file in Recorded TV, but I found it odd it seems to be purposely skipping the recordings.
bdoe
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 61
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:48 pm
Full Name: Bryan

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Nov 16, 2016 7:05 pm

Bryan,

Yes, I have the same. I do find it strange also. I can't find anything that would explain why we exclude those files... Please add some additional folders with more "regular" files on the D-drive and let us know if those are protected and recoverable... That would exclude already a few possibilities to start

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3165
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby bdoe » Thu Nov 17, 2016 3:23 pm

I was able to work with it some more last night. I changed it back to a full computer backup first since that's what I'm hoping to wind up with. Here's what I found:

-a .wtv file in C:\Users\username\Downloads was backed up correctly
-Two *.exe files in D:\Recorded TV were not backed up
-A .wtv file in D:\otherfolder was backed up
-Closing Media Center made no difference

So it appears that .wtv files are not the problem, but Recorded TV is. Any idea why that would happen with a full computer backup? I didn't look too hard at the permissions but it appeared normal. I've also never seen an entire folder missed in a full computer backup.

Now, it is a big folder - around 800 recordings and maybe 3TB in use. The backup location (a network share) has plenty of room, though. There's no other activity going on during a backup (nothing being recorded, no recordings being watched). None of it seemed like anything out of the ordinary for Endpoint, I've got a few workstations at work with 2+ TB.
bdoe
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 61
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:48 pm
Full Name: Bryan

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu Nov 17, 2016 5:00 pm

Bryan,

In all honesty... I have no idea why that is happening. But then again, we never tested Windows Media Center and it is not in our supported matrix. I assume that all of your other workstations are backing up fine with VEB?

So our last resort here... Please log a support call. It is free but comes on a best effort basis (no SLA) and I hope they want to look at the logs (since it is not a supported OS...)
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3165
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby bdoe » Thu Nov 17, 2016 6:47 pm

Yes, every machine I've used VEB on has been working well. It's just this machine that's given me problems, and it figures it'd be a personal one. To be clear, it's just 7 Home x64, but running Media Center. I'll go ahead and submit a case....I almost did but was hoping there'd be something quick. Thanks!
bdoe
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 61
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:48 pm
Full Name: Bryan

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Nov 17, 2016 10:34 pm

Bryan,

Thanks for posting. Please open the support case and let me know the case ID. I'll ask QA team to take a look at your case.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6257
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby bdoe » Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:01 pm

I tried submitting a case from within VEB today, but it wouldn't recognize my e-mail and let me submit. I tried using my work e-mail since that's already with Veeam as well as a personal one, but after getting the email and using the link it wouldn't work. Is that the only way to submit a VEB case?

I did browse through a few logs searching for reference to Recorded TV and didn't find anything.
bdoe
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 61
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:48 pm
Full Name: Bryan

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:29 pm

Bryan,

I'll ask support team to get in touch with you. Can we use your forum's contact email address?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6257
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby bdoe » Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:31 pm

Yes, that'd be fine. Thanks!
bdoe
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 61
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:48 pm
Full Name: Bryan

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:42 pm

Thanks! Support folks are aware and will try to reach you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6257
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby bdoe » Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:58 pm

Thanks, I just got the case number. Anyone ever tell you that you guys are awesome? You guys are pretty awesome.
bdoe
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 61
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:48 pm
Full Name: Bryan

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Nov 18, 2016 5:36 pm

You are welcome :D

P.S. Please don’t forget to update the thread with investigation results.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6257
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam Endpoint and Windows Media Center

Veeam Logoby bdoe » Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:08 am

It turns out the following registry path: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\BackupRestore\FilesNotToSnapshot contains the Recorded TV path. It's apparently added by Microsoft. I wouldn't have expected that since recordings that require DRM (premium stuff, mostly) use PlayReady so only the machine that recorded it can watch. But at least now I know VEB was doing what it was told to all along!
bdoe
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 61
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:48 pm
Full Name: Bryan

Next

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BBRG and 15 guests