[NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby ninjaburn81 » Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:50 pm 2 people like this post

Download working for me. Time to test all over again! :)
ninjaburn81
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:56 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Full Name: Adam Vogini

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Mar 10, 2015 11:07 pm

Welcome back, Adam! I was expecting to see some feedback from you :)
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby spyker » Wed Mar 11, 2015 8:53 am

Will there be any integration with v7 of B & R?
spyker
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:54 pm
Full Name: GG

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Mar 11, 2015 10:18 am

No. Integration will require B&R 8.0 U2 or later.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby outsourceis » Fri Mar 13, 2015 11:34 pm

Plus one to the cloud connect integration

Thank you
outsourceis
Service Provider
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:42 am

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby chris.childerhose » Mon Mar 16, 2015 5:39 pm

I have my Veeam 8 server (Patch 1) which is a physical box. Can this RC build be installed without messing up the VBR files so that I can back up my server daily? Not sure if the Veeam EPC modifies files related to VBR in any way or not. I had issues with Veeam on this box and now that they are fixed want to back it up. :)
Chris Childerhose, VCAP-DCA, VMCE9, VCP, MCITP
chris.childerhose
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 71
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Location: Toronto, ON
Full Name: Chris Childerhose

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 16, 2015 5:51 pm

Chris, you can try to install and backup your production Veeam B&R server, however please keep in mind this very important note about RC:
• For the same reasons, we may not be able to provide the upgrade to RTM build, and/or ability to restore from RC backups in RTM build. So please, do not assume that such compatibility will be available.

P.S. if I were you, I would wait till the GA code, or use built-in configuration backup or SQL Management Studio to protect your Veeam backup database.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby chris.childerhose » Mon Mar 16, 2015 6:04 pm

It is not the Veeam database I am worried about as that is on a separate SQL server from my Veeam server. It is the Veeam server itself that I want backed up so that I can create a recovery disc as it works great for laptops.

I think I will wait on the GA code instead as I have seen the RC break things which I want to avoid. Thanks.
Chris Childerhose, VCAP-DCA, VMCE9, VCP, MCITP
chris.childerhose
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 71
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Location: Toronto, ON
Full Name: Chris Childerhose

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby ninjaburn81 » Mon Mar 16, 2015 8:55 pm 1 person likes this post

d.popov wrote:Welcome back, Adam! I was expecting to see some feedback from you :)


Sorry Dmitry, it's been insane for me elsewhere...firewall, VMware stuff, and slowly getting a new Veeam v8 physical box up and moving (need to start using tape archivals). Too many hats! Nice to be missed though!

Just got the RC installed and will start banging at it to see what shakes out. I'll be around! ;)
ninjaburn81
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:56 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Full Name: Adam Vogini

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby agrob » Fri Mar 27, 2015 10:20 am

not sure if this was already covered before. with the final version of endpoint backup, can i restore from backups i have done with RC (not with earlier BETA versions)?
thanks
agrob
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 90
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 1:31 pm
Full Name: Andre

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Mar 27, 2015 11:28 am

Yes, that's covered in the quote 2 posts above yours, thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby Brad.Morris » Sun Mar 29, 2015 10:12 pm

Any update on when Patch 2 will be released.
Brad.Morris
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 43
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:29 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Full Name: Brad Morris

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:04 am

We are aiming to release update 2 by the end of April.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby Costy » Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:22 pm 2 people like this post

After having to work and setup Veeam B&R 8 in all possible scenarios, working with Endpoint seems like a kid’s play.
And it does the job.
Now, of course I would like to see some control options from Veeam 8 console like starting endpoint backups and more.
But as it is, it’s a good start.
I am posting this not only to compliment your product but to point to a little (?) flaw that in my opinion has to be fixed.
It doesn’t know how to deal with bad blocks, so it simply fails.
Testing it, I found two perfectly running desktops in this situation. Hard drives scan ok, other tools (offline image) work.
When you find your system drive has bad blocks the first thing you think is a full system backup, to be able to restore it on a new drive.
Thank you.
Costy
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:51 pm
Full Name: Constantin

Re: [NEW BUILD] Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE RC

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:32 pm

Constantin,
It doesn’t know how to deal with bad blocks, so it simply fails.

We added the ability to identify the bad blocks during the backup process and once it is found, backup will fail, so that’s true. It was done to ensure the backup process would not cause further disk corruption due the multiple consecutive read attempts of the corrupted block. For sure, we are going to enhance the existing functionality, so thank you for your feedback!

Meanwhile, if you notice the entire computer backup is failing during specific volume backup (there should be noticeable error message) – you still can go to the ‘configure backup’ wizard and use the volume level backup mode for the non-corrupted volumes.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests