Veeam Endpoint Backup won't start

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Veeam Endpoint Backup won't start

Veeam Logoby Crossbar » Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:37 pm

Hi, we use Veeam Endpoint Backup on several computers here, but I'm having problems with one of them.

On this computer, the Veeam Endpoint Backup service is running but I'm unable to bring up the actual program. If click on the shortcut in the start menu nothing happens. The program doesn't come up nor do I get any error messages. The Veeam icon is not in the system tray. Backups stopped working right around the time I noticed the issue with starting the program. Veeam had been working for several months without issue before it stopped.

I've tried uninstalling/reinstalling Veeam Endpoint and that did not help. I also tried resetting the Veeam database as described here without any luck - https://tinkertry.com/veeam-endpoint-ba ... base-reset.

I tried opening a ticket with Veeam but ran into two issues. One, you need to open a ticket from within Veeam Endpoint and I can't get the program to open. And two, I tried opening a ticket from a different computer with a working Veeam Endpoint but it told me my email address was not registered even after I clicked on the link in the registration email.

Anyone have any ideas how to get Veeam working on my problem computer?
Crossbar
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:25 pm

Re: Veeam Endpoint Backup won't start

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:43 pm

Hi,

When you register, and then click on the registration link, it can take some time before everything gets synchronized. Can you try again from another computer in a few hours? If that doesn't work, let us know and we will work from there

Thanks

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3130
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam Endpoint Backup won't start

Veeam Logoby Crossbar » Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:50 pm

Mike, I checked again and was able to open a ticket. Thanks for the help.
Crossbar
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:25 pm

Re: Veeam Endpoint Backup won't start

Veeam Logoby Crossbar » Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:44 pm 1 person likes this post

In case someone finds this thread via a search someday in the future, Veeam support was able to get me fixed up. Turns out WMI was borked on the machine in question. Followed this guide to get it sorted out - https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/ask ... wmi-class/

Veeam Endpoint is running again and the machine is currently backing up.
Crossbar
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:25 pm

Re: Veeam Endpoint Backup won't start

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:48 pm

Crossbar,

Thanks a lot for updating this thread and confirming the resolution.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6111
Liked: 434 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam Endpoint Backup won't start

Veeam Logoby Goeppel » Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:49 pm

We have the same issue on two PC: the VEB systray Application is no longer showing up.
If i try to start it with the startmenu link it shortly shows up in Processexplorer but then it crashes and is gone without a visual errormessage
Is there a chance to get a support ticket other then to use the application itself as this is not usable?
Goeppel
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 12:49 pm
Full Name: Erich Göppel

Re: Veeam Endpoint Backup won't start

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Dec 23, 2016 12:22 pm

Goeppel,

You can open a support case from any other endpoint. If that’s not working for you - send me your email address via PM and I'll ask support team to get in touch with you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6111
Liked: 434 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam Endpoint Backup won't start

Veeam Logoby Goeppel » Thu Dec 29, 2016 2:03 pm

Veeam support was able to fix our UI Problem, it was a problem with a damaged installation of ".net 4.5.2"
after a repair install of ".net 4.5.2" the problem was solved.
Goeppel
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 12:49 pm
Full Name: Erich Göppel


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests