Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
Wad4iPod
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 04, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Post by Wad4iPod » Mar 14, 2017 4:40 pm

Greetings,
I have a Windows 10 Pro PC with a raid 0 (striped) set. One of the hard drives failed. I replaced the drives with 2 larger drives and configured the raid 0 stripe.
- My last EP was 70 days ago - as was the recovery cd.

I have performed the restore a few times; with and without injected drivers.

I still get a no boot device found when starting the PC.

Are there additional steps?

Help please

Thank you,
Kevin

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9601
Liked: 754 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Post by Dima P. » Mar 14, 2017 5:03 pm

Hi Kevin,

Check BIOS boot priority order - Recovery Media source should be first in the list.

Wad4iPod
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 04, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Post by Wad4iPod » Mar 14, 2017 6:01 pm

I have already restored the last backup. Booting from the recovery Cd works fine.
I am attempting to boot from the bare metal restoration. Meaning, my hard drive.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5343
Liked: 560 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Post by Mike Resseler » Mar 15, 2017 7:03 am

Any change you are using nForce RAID array?

Wad4iPod
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 04, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Post by Wad4iPod » Mar 15, 2017 2:08 pm

It is a Marvell Raid.
Pretty sure it is this motherboard. I am currently not near the computer. It was built +7 years ago.
Marvell 88SE6320 2 x SAS (RAID 0 and 1)

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... 6813131346

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5343
Liked: 560 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Post by Mike Resseler » Mar 15, 2017 2:25 pm

The reason I asked is because there were many issues with RAID and disks over a certain size after the anniversary update of Windows 10. The only solution was to wait for the vendors to upgrade with firmware. Since you stated that you have placed bigger disks, I am thinking in that direction. Also because you did the recovery (I assume the recovery succeeded) and that it appears after the reboot

Wad4iPod
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 04, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Post by Wad4iPod » Mar 18, 2017 2:41 pm

Ah. You are most likely spot on.
The recovery did succeed. No boot after the recovery.
Thank you Mike.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5343
Liked: 560 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Post by Mike Resseler » Mar 18, 2017 6:03 pm

Let us know if you find the solution to this. I am sure many others will benefit from it also!

Thanks
Mike

chris400
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2017 10:31 am
Full Name: Christoph
Contact:

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Post by chris400 » Mar 19, 2017 9:40 pm

Try restoring to the remaining smaller disk as JBOD or degraded RAID1 - if successful, the bigger disk are the cause, if not, it's veeam itself.

gosnells
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 23, 2012 4:28 am
Full Name: Mike Smith
Contact:

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Post by gosnells » Mar 21, 2017 4:53 am

curious to know more info on this one.

what size were the original hard disks ?
what size are the replacement hard disks ?

I'm assuming the recovery media saw the RAID0 array all ok, and not as two separate disks.


RAID0 - really ?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests