Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Veeam Logoby Wad4iPod » Tue Mar 14, 2017 4:40 pm

Greetings,
I have a Windows 10 Pro PC with a raid 0 (striped) set. One of the hard drives failed. I replaced the drives with 2 larger drives and configured the raid 0 stripe.
- My last EP was 70 days ago - as was the recovery cd.

I have performed the restore a few times; with and without injected drivers.

I still get a no boot device found when starting the PC.

Are there additional steps?

Help please

Thank you,
Kevin
Wad4iPod
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 69
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:34 am

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:03 pm

Hi Kevin,

Check BIOS boot priority order - Recovery Media source should be first in the list.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6743
Liked: 482 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Veeam Logoby Wad4iPod » Tue Mar 14, 2017 6:01 pm

I have already restored the last backup. Booting from the recovery Cd works fine.
I am attempting to boot from the bare metal restoration. Meaning, my hard drive.
Wad4iPod
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 69
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:34 am

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Mar 15, 2017 7:03 am

Any change you are using nForce RAID array?
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3498
Liked: 390 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Veeam Logoby Wad4iPod » Wed Mar 15, 2017 2:08 pm

It is a Marvell Raid.
Pretty sure it is this motherboard. I am currently not near the computer. It was built +7 years ago.
Marvell 88SE6320 2 x SAS (RAID 0 and 1)

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... 6813131346
Wad4iPod
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 69
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:34 am

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Mar 15, 2017 2:25 pm

The reason I asked is because there were many issues with RAID and disks over a certain size after the anniversary update of Windows 10. The only solution was to wait for the vendors to upgrade with firmware. Since you stated that you have placed bigger disks, I am thinking in that direction. Also because you did the recovery (I assume the recovery succeeded) and that it appears after the reboot
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3498
Liked: 390 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Veeam Logoby Wad4iPod » Sat Mar 18, 2017 2:41 pm

Ah. You are most likely spot on.
The recovery did succeed. No boot after the recovery.
Thank you Mike.
Wad4iPod
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 69
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:34 am

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Sat Mar 18, 2017 6:03 pm

Let us know if you find the solution to this. I am sure many others will benefit from it also!

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3498
Liked: 390 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Veeam Logoby chris400 » Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:40 pm

Try restoring to the remaining smaller disk as JBOD or degraded RAID1 - if successful, the bigger disk are the cause, if not, it's veeam itself.
chris400
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 10:31 am
Full Name: Christoph

Re: Veeam Endpoint Restore to same hardware - No Boot Device

Veeam Logoby gosnells » Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:53 am

curious to know more info on this one.

what size were the original hard disks ?
what size are the replacement hard disks ?

I'm assuming the recovery media saw the RAID0 array all ok, and not as two separate disks.


RAID0 - really ?
gosnells
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 4:28 am
Full Name: Mike Smith


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest