Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
RMP14682481
Lurker
Liked: never

Veeam Volume Level Restore fail with LZ4 Bad CRC Message

Post by RMP14682481 »

Hi,

I'm new to the Veeam Forum but I'm not new to the free Veeam Backup Solution itself. But at the weekend I have had the first problem since use of this solution.

I began with Version 1.1.2.119 and use currently the Version 2.0.0.700 on a notebook with the following spezifications:

- Windows 10 Version 1709 Build 16299.248
- One Systemdrive, 128 GB SSD
- One Data Drive, 1 TB
- Fresh Install of Veeam Backup 2.0.0.700
- The Notebook is new, so now formlery Version of Veeam was installed

Because of problems with my windows installation, I wasn't able to use the "Microsoft Photos" App I tried to recover my whole Notebook with Image and Bare Metal Recovery.

My Backup was saved on a external 3,5" 1 TB Hard Disk Drive.

Recovery of the Systemdrive (SSD) runs without any problems, while recovering the Data Drive (D:) Veeam provided me a failure message and stop recovering:

- Restoring Datenlager (D:) Error: Failed to decompress LZ4 block: Bad crc (orignal ...
- Restore failed: Failed to decompress LZ4 block: Bad crc (original crc: 36057e3d, c...

Ok, my belief in Veeam was shaken. Fortunately, I had a file copy of my hard drive so that there was no data loss.

I read the Veeam Forum and used the Tool "Victoria" to check the to whole hard disk. No errors was found.

So I deleted the old Backup and make a new one. After that, I did a restore of the new backup to a virtual machine. Everythink was fine.

But there was still a bad feeling.

So I unregisterd the 3,5" 1 TB Drive and connectet a new WD 2,5" 2 TB - External USB3 Hard Disk. Never used, original packaging, Quick Format of the Disk from my side.

Then I took a backup with Veeam 2.0.0.700 and made a test restore to a virtual machine again. It fails with the above mentioned error.