Windows 7 UAC prompt

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Windows 7 UAC prompt

Veeam Logoby malvin82 » Thu May 11, 2017 9:00 am

Hi All,

we use the Endpoint Backup tool in our organization. Our users are not administrators on their machine.
When they need to change something in the "configure backup" section (changed password, retention policy,backup frequency or files/folder to be included/excluded) Windows 7 UAC pops up requesting elevated rights. This is something we cannot disable for standard users, so is there any way of a workaround? the Task scheduler, etc methods don't seem to be the right ones.
thanks
malvin82
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 8:33 am
Full Name: male win

Re: Windows 7 UAC prompt

Veeam Logoby malvin82 » Thu May 11, 2017 9:41 am

sorry,forgot to mention, Endpoint Backup FREE edition is used..
malvin82
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 8:33 am
Full Name: male win

Re: Windows 7 UAC prompt

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu May 11, 2017 11:54 am

Hi @malvin82,

To be able to configure the backup (or restore) they need to have administrator rights to do that. I'm afraid there is no workaround for this.

Sorry
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2983
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Windows 7 UAC prompt

Veeam Logoby malvin82 » Thu May 11, 2017 12:09 pm

thanks,

that's what I was afraid of :)
if we use the paid version with a management server (not sure about naming of the items, sorry) will that still be the case?
malvin82
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 8:33 am
Full Name: male win

Re: Windows 7 UAC prompt

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu May 11, 2017 12:11 pm

From the user point of view it will still be the same.

However, you, either through the Veeam Availability Console or the Veeam Agent for Windows API (new name for VEB) you will be able to change those (With the API you would be able to do that through your favorite deployment mechanism... SCCM, GPO's, remote scripting...)
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2983
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests