WinRE missing, can't create recovery ISO

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

WinRE missing, can't create recovery ISO

Veeam Logoby NetAdMBC » Wed Aug 19, 2015 8:58 pm

Installed Endpoint Backup on my Win7 Pro machine. This is about my 20th install (I'm putting it all over the place), but first time I've had this problem: When I try to create recovery media, it fails, telling me "Windows Recovery Environment (WinRE) component is missing." It asks for the location of my installation files; I point it to an ISO I have mounted as a fake CD drive. It thinks for about 30 seconds, then comes back with the same message. If I try browsing down in the folders of the ISO to find what it's looking for, it immediately tells me the specified locations does not contain installation files.

Same behavior if I use a bootable flash drive that I made from the Win7 ISO.

What am I doing wrong? Where should I look for this?
NetAdMBC
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:20 pm

Re: WinRE missing, can't create recovery ISO

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:30 pm

The first thing you will need to do is use the Control Panel of VEB and open a support case. There is a similar case referenced Here

Cheers!
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: WinRE missing, can't create recovery ISO

Veeam Logoby NetAdMBC » Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:35 pm

thanks, will do.

support case number is 01001482
NetAdMBC
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:20 pm

Re: WinRE missing, can't create recovery ISO

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Aug 20, 2015 10:39 am

NetAdMBC,
The workaround is to download and install Windows ADK, which will bring the necessary components with its installation.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: WinRE missing, can't create recovery ISO

Veeam Logoby NetAdMBC » Thu Aug 20, 2015 3:56 pm

Received this from support:
"Please clarify whether you have any antivirus system on your machine?"

Answer is McAfee VirusScan 8.8. Prompted by the question, I disabled it and tried to create the recovery media, and it worked. Strange, since I had installed this on various other machines with McAfee and not run into that problem, but the problem is solved and I'll know what to do going forward.
NetAdMBC
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:20 pm

Re: WinRE missing, can't create recovery ISO

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Aug 20, 2015 4:29 pm

Might be the DISM component blocked by the antivirus. Thanks for the heads up – it’s good to know!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests