Wiping settings?

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Wiping settings?

Veeam Logoby Dimtar » Sat Apr 11, 2015 3:45 pm

Hi everyone.

How does one wipe the settings on a Veeam install? An uninstall doesn't do it and I cannot find anything in /appdata. I'd like to set up from scratch but even after an install it retains the previous settings.
Dimtar
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 11:34 pm
Full Name: Daniel C

Re: Wiping settings?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Sat Apr 11, 2015 4:48 pm

Hi,

After uninstall, remove the SQL installation also from add/remove programs.

Then, run this script to remove everything (database and settings)

Code: Select all
@echo off
echo "#remove regedit keys...     ------------------------------------------------|"
REG DELETE HKLM\SOFTWARE\Veeam /f
REG DELETE "HKU\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Microsoft SQL Server\UserInstances" /f
echo "#remove database...         ------------------------------------------------|"
DEL /F C:\Windows\System32\config\systemprofile\*.mdf
DEL /F C:\Windows\System32\config\systemprofile\*.ldf
RD /S /Q "C:\Windows\System32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Microsoft SQL Server Local DB\Instances\VeeamEndPoint"
echo "#remove installation files...-----------------------------------------------|"
RD /S /Q "C:\Program Files\Veeam"


SET /P ANSWER=Do you want to delete Log Files? (Y/N)?
echo You chose: %ANSWER%
if /i {%ANSWER%}=={y} (goto :yes)
if /i {%ANSWER%}=={yes} (goto :yes)
goto :no

:yes
RD /S /Q "C:\ProgramData\Veeam"
exit /b 0

:no
echo Log files does not delete!
exit /b 1


Copy the code above and save it as uninstall-VEB.cmd (or something) and run as an administrator

Cheers

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2756
Liked: 338 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Wiping settings?

Veeam Logoby SaAtomic » Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:01 am

Can you specify
remove the SQL installation
?

Also, I'm really missing the option to wipe the settings when uninstalling Veeam B&R.
SaAtomic
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 9:07 am

Re: Wiping settings?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:45 am

Hi,

You need to manually uninstall the SQL Server Express from add/remove programs. We don't do this automatically as there could be other tools / solutions using SQL express in the background. Also, we don't wipe specific settings so you don't loose configuration / data when you reinstall.

Hope it makes more sense

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2756
Liked: 338 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Wiping settings?

Veeam Logoby SaAtomic » Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:50 am

I think removing the configuration and data should be an option when uninsalling/reinstalling B&R. I'm reinstalling specifically just to wipe the config/data.
SaAtomic
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 9:07 am

Re: Wiping settings?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:55 am

Hmmm, I might have overseen something...

You are talking about Backup & Replication and not Veeam Endpoint Backup here.. Am I correct? (Then you are in the wrong forum ;-))

Even if you want to do that (completely wipe config / data) the process is not that difficult. You can easily uninstall all components (https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/hyp ... l_vbr.html for more info) and then connect to SQL server to drop the databases. After that, it is all gone. If nobody else is using that DB, then simply uninstall SQL server and delete the databases from disk.

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2756
Liked: 338 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Wiping settings?

Veeam Logoby SaAtomic » Thu Oct 27, 2016 8:00 am

ouch.. sorry, I might have taken a wrong turn in the forums somewhere..

thanks for the link.
SaAtomic
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 9:07 am

Re: Wiping settings?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu Oct 27, 2016 8:01 am

No worries ;-)
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2756
Liked: 338 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests