Standalone backup agents for Linux, Mac, AIX & Solaris workloads on-premises or in the public cloud
Post Reply
kiekar
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2021 12:19 am
Full Name: Karl Kiesling
Contact:

Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by kiekar »

Hello,

Case #06076046

I'm unable to restore my backup volume located on an external usb hhd. When using an usb bootable recovery media version 5.0.2.4567, I'm able to select the restorepoint but I receive a message Value [IsACTIVE] was not found.

I tried with usb bootable revocery medial version 6.0.2.1168 but I'm unable to select a recovery volume restore point because the external hhd is not mounted.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Regards,

Karl
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8289
Liked: 2158 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by Mildur »

Hi Karl

Thank you for the case number. There is not much we can do over the forum.
Please continue to work within your support case.

Have you tried the generic ISO or did you have created a custom ISO?
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/agent ... tml?ver=60

Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6400
Liked: 716 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by PTide »

Hi,
I tried with usb bootable revocery medial version 6.0.2.1168 but I'm unable to select a recovery volume restore point because the external hhd is not mounted.
You mean that ISO v6 cannot mount USB? If so, then have you tried to drop to CLI and mount it manually?

Thanks!
kiekar
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2021 12:19 am
Full Name: Karl Kiesling
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by kiekar »

Hi Karl

Thank you for the case number. There is not much we can do over the forum.
Please continue to work within your support case.

Have you tried the generic ISO or did you have created a custom ISO?
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/agent ... tml?ver=60

Best,
Fabian
Mildur wrote: May 22, 2023 1:37 pm Have you tried the generic ISO or did you have created a custom ISO?
I used the generic ISO v6. Why is it not mounting the external hhd when booting up like version 5
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6400
Liked: 716 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by PTide »

The reason why v6 does not mount USB is to be researched by our team.

Meanwhile, please try mounting the USB manually via CLI and let me know if it work.

Thanks!
kiekar
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2021 12:19 am
Full Name: Karl Kiesling
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by kiekar »

How does one mount an external hhd manually from the recovery media. Is there an option to do this?

Thanks,
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6400
Liked: 716 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by PTide »

Well, you select the corresponding 'Exit to shell' menu entry and it's done - you are in a CLI and can use "mount" command to mount any block device of your choice. Alternatively, you can simply wait 1 minute during boot for the SSH server to start, and connect remotely with SSH client.

Thanks!
kiekar
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2021 12:19 am
Full Name: Karl Kiesling
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by kiekar »

Thanks for the links, much appreciated.

When viewing the SSH Connection Info, it only displays IPv6 info which I'm not using. When connecting to the linux server I use 172.16.0.20

Thanks
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6400
Liked: 716 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by PTide »

Do you mean that you don't see your IPv4 address on the "SSH Connection Info" screen?

Thanks
kiekar
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2021 12:19 am
Full Name: Karl Kiesling
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by kiekar »

Yes that's correct. I only see IPv6, IPv4 is not displayed.

Thanks
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6400
Liked: 716 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by PTide »

172.16.0.20
Is this address set statically on the machine, or there is a binding to the machines MAC on DHCP?

Thanks!
kiekar
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2021 12:19 am
Full Name: Karl Kiesling
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by kiekar »

The address is set statically

Thanks
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6400
Liked: 716 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by PTide »

Ok, then another question - do you have a DHCP server in the network?
kiekar
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2021 12:19 am
Full Name: Karl Kiesling
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by kiekar »

No, for my DMZ Netork where my linux server resides, I do not have DHCP server activated.

Thanks
kiekar
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2021 12:19 am
Full Name: Karl Kiesling
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by kiekar »

Hello,

I received an email that my case case was closed. What is my next step?

Thanks
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6400
Liked: 716 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by PTide »

That is, there is no DHCP on your network, but the recovery media gets an IPv6 address automatically, but doesn't get IPv4.

Is that correct?

For now the easiest way would to work with the machine directly.

If you want SSH, then you will need to use a workaround described in this article:
https://www.veeam.com/kb4183

Section #2 (Some hardware is not recognized in the Veeam Recovery Media or you are unable to patch Veeam Recovery Media.)

Install Agent on any liveCD, enable recovery mode, configure network settings as you want and start SSH and then connect and perform restore via SSH.

Thanks!
kiekar
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2021 12:19 am
Full Name: Karl Kiesling
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by kiekar »

I was able to retreive my backups referencing KB4183 setting enableOnLiveSystem = 1 and using veeamconfig recoveryui with SSH

Thanks
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6400
Liked: 716 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by PTide »

Hi,

Good to hear that!

Would you also clarify this part, please?
That is, there is no DHCP on your network, but the recovery media gets an IPv6 address automatically, but doesn't get IPv4.

Is that correct?
Thanks!
kiekar
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2021 12:19 am
Full Name: Karl Kiesling
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by kiekar »

Yes that is correct. The recovery media gets an IPv6 address automatically but no IPv4 address.

My last reply, I mentioned that I was able to access all my incremental backups using the recoveryui howerver when trying to restore it fails with errors.

To me this makes sense. Shouldn't one restore a the complete pc using the backup / restore recovery media.

Thanks
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6400
Liked: 716 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot Restore backup Volume

Post by PTide »

howerver when trying to restore it fails with errors.
What kind of errors?

Thanks!
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests