Standalone backup agents for Linux and Unix workloads on-premises or in the public cloud
Post Reply
FabioM
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 36
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sep 23, 2013 10:27 am
Full Name: Fábio Mendonça
Contact:

Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by FabioM »

Hi,
I'm trying to create a minilab and installed VBR9.5 on a W2012R2 VM .
I want to backup a Linux Server (Ubuntu with MYSQL) and just installed Veeam Agent for Linux.
When I try to configure a backup to VBR Server I get an error "VCP Command size more than 1GB"
Any ideas how to solve ?
Thanks

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5657
Liked: 555 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by PTide »

Hi,

Please provide logs from VBR and VAL. You need to upload /var/log/veeam directory somewhere (dropbox for example). Also please provide kernel logs from the linux server.

Thank you.

FabioM
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 36
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sep 23, 2013 10:27 am
Full Name: Fábio Mendonça
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by FabioM » 1 person likes this post

PTide i'll send you that as soon as possible.

FabioM
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 36
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sep 23, 2013 10:27 am
Full Name: Fábio Mendonça
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by FabioM »


PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5657
Liked: 555 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by PTide »

Got the logs. Could you please check if the port 83163 is available?

Thanks.

FabioM
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 36
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sep 23, 2013 10:27 am
Full Name: Fábio Mendonça
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by FabioM »

Where ? Linux or VBR Server ?
Are you sure about the Port Number?

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5657
Liked: 555 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by PTide »

I'm sorry, sure there is no such port number, wrong thing was stuck in the clipboard :) Please check if port 10002 is available on VBR.

Thanks

FabioM
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 36
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sep 23, 2013 10:27 am
Full Name: Fábio Mendonça
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by FabioM »

yes, its available.
I now can insert all the info but the agent configuration stalls when i choose next (see screenshot i left o dropbox).

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5657
Liked: 555 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by PTide »

Do you have any software on VBR listening on port 10002 (Veeam Endpoint for example)? Also did you skip the domain field or you juse removed it from the screenshot for security reasons? If the former then please try to enter VBR hostname there. I also sent you some instructions via PM.

Thanks

tommmoe
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 05, 2016 11:27 pm
Full Name: Tom
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by tommmoe »

Hi,

Just checking if this issue was resolved as we are currently experiencing the same thing..

Cheers

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5657
Liked: 555 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by PTide »

Hi Tom,

It's not clear whether you get "VCP Command size more than 1GB" error or the config wizards stalls? Please elaborate.

Thanks

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24341
Liked: 1889 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Maybe there is a typo in the topic name, but VAL does not support Veeam B&R v 9.5 as a target for the backup job.

tommmoe
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 05, 2016 11:27 pm
Full Name: Tom
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by tommmoe »

PTide wrote:Hi Tom,

It's not clear whether you get "VCP Command size more than 1GB" error or the config wizards stalls? Please elaborate.

Thanks
Hi,

We initally had that error message the first few times but since then it hangs.

Also the port 10002 is not currently open on our B&R server, after changing the port to one that is listening (e.g. 10001, 10003) it does establish a connection but then hangs.

My mistake, we are running 9.0 Vitaliy as 9.5 isn't even released..

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24341
Liked: 1889 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by Vitaliy S. »

That's what I've thought, but even Veeam B&R v9 is not supported yet (based on the topic above) ;)

FabioM
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 36
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sep 23, 2013 10:27 am
Full Name: Fábio Mendonça
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by FabioM » 1 person likes this post

Hello,
I haven't solved it 'cause my lab was "formatted" :)
I was never able to backup from VAL to my VBR9.5 but I think I had some network issues in my lab ... I'll create a new lab and will test it again when i have a little time for it.

syntetikvision
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 05, 2016 10:45 pm
Full Name: João Ferreira
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by syntetikvision »

Hi All,

I'm testing VAL on Debian and Centos machines, but when i try to configure the backup to VBR 9.5 it hangs after configure the VBR options.

On the logs, everything seems ok, i see that the authentication on Windows Server is fine, but then the Setup hangs eternally.

Code: Select all

[05.11.2016 22:35:25] <140492194207488>        |   Trying to connect to the endpoint [10.39.30.230:10002]
[05.11.2016 22:35:25] <140492194207488>        |   Connection status: system:111 ( Connection refused ).
[05.11.2016 22:35:25] <140492194207488> lpbconf| ERR |Failed to connect to the port [backups.cbr.srv.wit:10002].
[05.11.2016 22:35:25] <140492194207488> lpbconf| >>  |Unable connect to backup server backups.cbr.srv.wit:10002.
[05.11.2016 22:35:25] <140492194207488> lpbconf| >>  |An exception was thrown from thread [140492194207488].
[05.11.2016 22:35:30] <140492194207488> lpbconf|   CJobWizardController::switchToNextPage().
[05.11.2016 22:35:30] <140492194207488> lpbconf|   CVbrServerPageController::verifyPage.
[05.11.2016 22:35:30] <140492194207488>        |   Trying to connect to the endpoint [10.39.30.230:10001]
[05.11.2016 22:35:30] <140492194207488>        |   Connection status: system:0 ( Success ).
[05.11.2016 22:35:30] <140492194207488> lpbcore|   Try Authenticate to backup server
[05.11.2016 22:35:30] <140492194207488> lpbcore|     Server negotiate flags: 0xe2828235. Windows version: 6.3.9600.15
[05.11.2016 22:35:30] <140492194207488> lpbcore|   Authenticated
The first strange thing, is that port 10002 is not open on VBR 9.5, just the 10001. When i try with the default port, an exception is thrown, but if i used the port 10001, the Connection Status is ok and the authentication too.

So what's the problem after this ? Anyone had solved this issue ?

Best regards,

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24341
Liked: 1889 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by Vitaliy S. »

As you can read from the previous page, VBR 9.5 is not supported as a target for the VAL backup job yet. Thanks!

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5657
Liked: 555 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by PTide »

João,

VAL Beta2 should work fine with VBR 9.5, whereas VAL GA will require VBR 9.5 U1, indeed. Please open port 10002 on VBR and try to connect again. If that does not work please collect logs from VBR for the last 24 hours and the following logs from VAL - the whole /var/log/veeam directory and the output of dmesg -T.

Thanks

vinegar
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 11, 2016 1:27 am
Full Name: Mason Walters
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by vinegar »

I'm having the same issue as syntetikvision. I'm attempting to config a backup to VBR 9.0, not 9.5.

It hangs at the VBR screen

[10.11.2016 17:14:31] <140009143150336> | Trying to connect to the endpoint [192.168.12.240:10001]
[10.11.2016 17:14:31] <140009143150336> | Connection status: system:0 ( Success ).
[10.11.2016 17:14:31] <140009143150336> lpbcore| Try Authenticate to backup server
[10.11.2016 17:14:31] <140009143150336> lpbcore| Server negotiate flags: 0xe2818235. Windows version: 6.2.9200.15
[10.11.2016 17:14:31] <140009143150336> lpbcore| Authenticated

Logs end after authenticated

Any ideas?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24341
Liked: 1889 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Veeam B&R 9.0 is not supported as we have previously mentioned in this very thread ;)

priet
Service Provider
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 28, 2013 1:26 pm
Full Name: Peter Riet
Contact:

[MERGED] Unable to connect to repository

Post by priet »

I'm testing Veeam Agent for Linux beta 2.

I've a VBR server located at our office and a Linux CentOS 7 server running in a datacenter.

Port 10002 is open to our VBR server. The Linux Agent is able to see and connect to one of the repositories in the VBR.

When I try to run a backup job, the following error occurs:

Code: Select all

2016-11-16 13:08:01 Job started at 2016-11-16 13:08:01
2016-11-16 13:08:02 Starting backup
2016-11-16 13:08:10 Creating volume snapshot
2016-11-16 13:10:35 [error] Failed to connect to the port [192.168.26.122:2500].
2016-11-16 13:10:35 [error] Failed to perform backup
192.168.26.122 is the address of the (Windows) repository server, a second server at our office.

Do I assume correctly that the Linux Agent is trying to directly connect to the repository? I was under the assumption that the communication went through the VBR server.

If that is the case, then I need to add the repository with a FQDN and the necessary port forwarding so it can be accessed from outside. However, that will complicate the setup in the VBR for the local jobs.

What is the best way to set this up?

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5657
Liked: 555 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by PTide »

Hi,
Do I assume correctly that the Linux Agent is trying to directly connect to the repository?
Yes, exactly, VAL connect directly to the repository. Maybe you could just create an additional rule for the Linux host's IP on the repo's side?

Thanks

FabioM
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 36
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sep 23, 2013 10:27 am
Full Name: Fábio Mendonça
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by FabioM » 1 person likes this post

Hello All,

Just finish deploying my lab and at this point I have a VBR9.5 server backing up 4 VM's to a HPE StoreOnce VSA Repository.
VM1: Windows Server 2012R2 (DC/DNS/FS)
VM2: Windows Server 2012R2 (SQL2014 Express & Oracle12g)
VM3: Windows Server 2012R2 (Exchange 2016)
VM4: Windows Server 2012 (Sharepoint 2013 Foundation with own DB )

Also deployed one Linux Ubuntu 16.04 Server and created a 2nd Repository on VBR (local disks) giving it permission to be accessed by a specific account.
On Linux the VAL was deployed and configured to backup the Entire Machine to VBR9.5 repository using the specific account.

Everything is working just fine. I've been able to backup the infrastructure and perform some restores but didn't test those deeply (maybe in a few weeks I'll post something about that since I also want to test restore to Azure).

This time I had no problems with ports or access to VBR server.

If anyone have questions I'll be happy to try to answer if i can.

Fabio.

jessie0
Enthusiast
Posts: 51
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Oct 16, 2019 5:04 am
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by jessie0 »

Hello

I have installed VAL 4.0 on a centos virtual machine
but have been unable to connect it to my VB&R repository
server which runs a VB&R V10 on the same virtual platform.
After executing the below command;

veeamconfig vbrserver add --name Veeam-Server --address 192.168.XX.XX --port 10006 --login administrator --domain XXXX --password XXXX

I get the following error message;
resolve: Host no found (authoritative)
unable to connect to backup server 192.168.XX.XX

I can confirm that all the information I entered in the command are accurate. I have also opened the port 10006 on the VB&R server just in case but it did not resolve the problem.

Please what am doing wrong?
Thank you.

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5657
Liked: 555 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by PTide »

Hi,

I assume the backup server IP address is accessible from the agent host? If so, then I'd like to ask you to open a support case and post your case Id.

P.S. You can omit --password parameter, the command line will prompt you for password.

Thanks!

jessie0
Enthusiast
Posts: 51
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Oct 16, 2019 5:04 am
Contact:

Re: Fail to configure backup to VBR 9.5 Server

Post by jessie0 »

Hello PTide

Thank you for commenting!

I have opened a case with support and here is the case number.
#04136277
"You can omit --password parameter, the command line will prompt you for password."
Thanks for the above information.
I can also confirm that the VB&R server is reachable from my Linux machine via ping.

Thank you.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests