Standalone backup agents for Linux and Unix workloads on-premises or in the public cloud
Post Reply
willrun4fun
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 30, 2014 3:39 pm
Full Name: Andy Rhine
Contact:

How do I delete a job?

Post by willrun4fun »

I have not found a way in the gui. Do or can a command line option do it?

willrun4fun
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 30, 2014 3:39 pm
Full Name: Andy Rhine
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by willrun4fun »

well I answered my own question with some more guessing.

veeamconfig job delete --name {job name}

Is there complete command line documentation somewhere yet?

tkhyla
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 29, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by tkhyla »

I have problem to delete old backups?
If I delete backup files from disk, it still not disappear from Veeam backup list.

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5651
Liked: 553 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by PTide »

Hi,
well I answered my own question with some more guessing.

veeamconfig job delete --name {job name}
HINT: you can use bash autocompletion (TAB) to see possible options.
Is there complete command line documentation somewhere yet?
It will be released once we determine which CLI operations are the least intuitive to the end-user so we can focus on those in the documentation :)

Thanks for your input!

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5651
Liked: 553 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by PTide »

Hi,
I have problem to delete old backups?
If I delete backup files from disk, it still not disappear from Veeam backup list.
Do you mean that you after deletion you can still see the rows on he main page of UI? If so then it seems that you confused backups with backup sessions history that is displayed in UI.

Thanks

tkhyla
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 29, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by tkhyla » 1 person likes this post

Do you mean that you after deletion you can still see the rows on he main page of UI? If so then it seems that you confused backups with backup sessions history that is displayed in UI.

Thanks
When I press R (recovery files) on main page, I can see all restore points on menu. I cannot mount backups anymore because all is deleted from disk. Can that history delete too some way?
Use case is when user define new backup jobs and old job isn't used anymore. Now that history page is mess because there is valid and not valid rows.

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5651
Liked: 553 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by PTide »

When I press R (recovery files) on main page, I can see all restore points on menu. I cannot mount backups anymore because all is deleted from disk. Can that history delete too some way?
Confirmed. That's a bug and will be fixed.

Thanks for heads up!

micy
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 9:35 am
Contact:

[MERGED] Job and backup removing

Post by micy »

Hi,
how to remove job and backup created before?
Thanks

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24330
Liked: 1880 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

You can do that via this command:

Code: Select all

veeamconfig job delete --name {job name}

micy
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by micy »

And how to delete the backup?

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5651
Liked: 553 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by PTide »

This functionality is not available in Beta so please just delete the files manually. Deleted restore points will still be visible in the UI though - that's a known limitation.

micy
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by micy »

When I run the same job repeatedly for some directory are this backups full or increment?
Thanks

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5651
Liked: 553 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by PTide »

The very first backup is always full, all subsequent backups are incremental. If you delete files from the directory then the backup job will detect that full backup is missing and will construct another one.

micy
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by micy »

There is a lot of limitations and bugs. When will a next beta version be?

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5651
Liked: 553 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by PTide »

There is a lot of limitations and bugs.
Could you list some of them that are the most severe and annoying please?
When will a next beta version be?
We don't have a strict deadline for that as we still collecting the feedback and feature requests on Beta1.

Thanks

micy
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by micy »

The first limitation is impossibility to use the VBR repository and the second missing some commands, e. g. a backup deletion. And then I saw something in the forum but I don't know what. It isn't "a lot", perhaps. :-)
Thanks.

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5651
Liked: 553 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I delete a job?

Post by PTide »

<...>missing some commands<...>
Kindly post other commands that you believe are missing once you come up with.

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests