Disaster recovery orchestration for the Enterprise
Post Reply
vkky2k
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 23, 2019 6:10 pm
Full Name: rogerpei
Contact:

Re: Veeam Availability Orchestrator

Post by vkky2k »

When we do replications to DR site, can Veeam utilize array hardware snapshots, for instance, NetApp filer's snapshots? How Veeam achieve that?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3741
Liked: 739 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Re: Veeam Availability Orchestrator

Post by nielsengelen »

VAO v2 doesn't utilize these however we made a great announcement a few weeks ago for v3.
https://foonet.be

vkky2k
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 23, 2019 6:10 pm
Full Name: rogerpei
Contact:

Re: Re: Veeam Availability Orchestrator

Post by vkky2k »

When or approximately when can v3 be released?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3741
Liked: 739 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Re: Veeam Availability Orchestrator

Post by nielsengelen »

There is no ETA at the moment however you can sign up for the beta (once available) via the blog post.
https://foonet.be

vkky2k
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 23, 2019 6:10 pm
Full Name: rogerpei
Contact:

Re: Re: Veeam Availability Orchestrator

Post by vkky2k »

OK
What differences really are between using array snapshots and veeam/vmware snapshots when doing VAO, or what benefits can we get by using array snapshots?

Thanks,

Oleg Patrakov
Enthusiast
Posts: 84
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Mar 01, 2018 5:09 pm
Full Name: Oleg Patrakov
Contact:

Re: Re: Veeam Availability Orchestrator

Post by Oleg Patrakov »

VAO will work with both snapshots created natively by netapp or ones created with veeam, so when it comes to VAO and its ability to orchestrate - there's no difference. VAO does not orchestrate the creation of snapshots, it only orchestrates the recovery using the already created snapshots.
using array snapshots can lower your RPO and minimize the impact on production workloads, but this decision is not related to using VAO per se.

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 180
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Availability Orchestrator

Post by crackocain »

Hello

https://www.veeam.com/availability-orch ... icing.html

In this website says: Veeam Backup & Replication or Veeam Availability Suite Enterprise or Enterprise Plus edition is required.

Enterprise or Enterprise Plus is required.

But in propartner "Build your quote configuration" says: To orchestrate disaster recovery from Veeam replicas or backups, Veeam Backup & Replication or Veeam Availability Suite (both Enterprise Plus edition) is required.

Which statement is correct?

Alec King
VP, Product Management
Posts: 1095
Liked: 248 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Re: Veeam Availability Orchestrator

Post by Alec King »

VAO 3.0 supports both Enterprise and Enterprise Plus editions. Note that update 10a for VBR is required.
Apologies that the propartner guide seems to be out of date. We'll update that ASAP.
Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest