Maintain control of your Microsoft 365 data
Post Reply
karsten123
Service Provider
Posts: 394
Liked: 93 times
Joined: Apr 03, 2019 6:53 am
Full Name: Karsten Meja
Contact:

Move to a new server

Post by karsten123 »

Just to be sure.

Old server is 2012 R2 and vb365 5.0.3.1063.
The new server should be a Server 2022 and vb365 7.0.0.3968.

Plan is to connect the original virtual hard disk to the new server and every required steps from kb2649 of course.
Is it possible that the repository upgrade procedure can upgrade the 5.0 repository to v7?
Or should i plan some steps in between?

Thanks in advance for clarification
Karsten
chris.childerhose
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 573
Liked: 132 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Full Name: Chris Childerhose
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Re: Move to a new server

Post by chris.childerhose »

As per the compatibility upgrade page here - https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/vbo36 ... tml?ver=70

You can upgrade the version of the VB365 you have. Check this page out to be sure.
-----------------------
Chris Childerhose
Veeam Vanguard / Veeam Legend / Veeam Ceritified Architect / VMCE
vExpert / VCAP-DCA / VCP8 / MCITP
Personal blog: https://just-virtualization.tech
Twitter: @cchilderhose
karsten123
Service Provider
Posts: 394
Liked: 93 times
Joined: Apr 03, 2019 6:53 am
Full Name: Karsten Meja
Contact:

Re: Move to a new server

Post by karsten123 »

Hi Chris,

thanks for your answer.

I did review the upgrade path. The question is, does it also apply for the procedure of migrating to a new server with the „old“ repository on its original virtual disk?

Thanks again
Karsten
chris.childerhose
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 573
Liked: 132 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Full Name: Chris Childerhose
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Re: Move to a new server

Post by chris.childerhose »

Hi Karsten,

To get things attached, you must migrate the disks and have the same VB365 on the new server. Then I would upgrade once you confirm the 5.0 version is working on the new server. You cannot move the disks to a new server with v7 already installed.

Thanks
Chris
-----------------------
Chris Childerhose
Veeam Vanguard / Veeam Legend / Veeam Ceritified Architect / VMCE
vExpert / VCAP-DCA / VCP8 / MCITP
Personal blog: https://just-virtualization.tech
Twitter: @cchilderhose
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8979
Liked: 2375 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Move to a new server

Post by Mildur » 1 person likes this post

Hi Karsten

Yes, you can connect v5 repositories to a v7 server and then run the repository upgrade procedure.
Please make sure you only connect repositories from upgradable builds mentioned in the user guide.

I tested this migration procedure successfully in our lab this April 2023:
post484423.html#p484423

Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
karsten123
Service Provider
Posts: 394
Liked: 93 times
Joined: Apr 03, 2019 6:53 am
Full Name: Karsten Meja
Contact:

Re: Move to a new server

Post by karsten123 » 1 person likes this post

perfect.

Thanks Fabian.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests