Maintain control of your Microsoft Office 365 email data
cmaker12c
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 04, 2018 7:50 am
Full Name: Tom Maker
Contact:

0365 Restore - help

Post by cmaker12c » Sep 04, 2018 8:00 am

Hi,

I am new to Veeam for Office365 backup. I have configured Veeam for 0365 and performed a successful backup of a SharePoint site in our 0365. When I go to explore the backup, the database window opens and no databases show up in the list. It looks like it's going to connect but nothing shows in the list. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4806
Liked: 508 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by Mike Resseler » Sep 04, 2018 2:51 pm

Hi Tom,

First: welcome to our forums.

What is the retention you chose on the repository?

cmaker12c
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 04, 2018 7:50 am
Full Name: Tom Maker
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by cmaker12c » Sep 04, 2018 9:12 pm

Hi Mike,

I can’t see a setting for retention? I’ve set my test backup to run each day.

It runs successfully, I can see the repository file on the backup repository.


When I click on explore latest SharePoint state, explorer for SharePoint open, open a SQL dialogue box for a couple of seconds and then displays nothing under databases. The instructions talk about manually adding an adb file, however I can’t find the add databases - office 365 database screen, only the screen to add an SQL database.

Thanks

Polina
Veeam Software
Posts: 192
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Oct 21, 2011 11:22 am
Full Name: Polina Vasilyeva
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by Polina » Sep 05, 2018 11:14 am

Hi Tom,

Are you exploring your SharePoint backup via VBO and its built-in Veeam Explorer for Microsoft SharePoint?

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4806
Liked: 508 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by Mike Resseler » Sep 05, 2018 11:48 am

Tom,

Besides what Polina asks, for the retention: check this article: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/vbo36 ... tml?ver=20

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by ejleipold » Sep 11, 2018 2:35 am

I have this same issue.

Backups are successful, right-click on the job, click explore latest sharepoint state, the sharepoint explorer opens, something pops up for a split second then it's just a blank box in the Explorer.

I recalled reading something about needed a staging SQL database? I don't recall it asking to set anything like that up when I installed it though ...

My retention policy is set to indefinate btw.

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4806
Liked: 508 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by Mike Resseler » Sep 11, 2018 8:46 am

Evan,

The staging SQL database is for VBR and not for VBO. So it should not be a problem. Since you are the second one with this issue, please create a support call so our engineers can figure out what is going wrong.
Post the case ID here and let us know the outcome after investigation with the engineers

Thanks
Mike

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by ejleipold » Sep 11, 2018 8:46 am

Ok mate will do.

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by ejleipold » Sep 17, 2018 3:56 am

So support are pulling the "contract expired" bs on me even though this was a trial license veeam provided to us (and our B&R contract is definitely not expired). Great trial guys ... :roll: :roll: :roll:

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4806
Liked: 508 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by Mike Resseler » Sep 17, 2018 5:34 am

Evan,

I'm not sure I follow. You downloaded a trial with a license of (I believe it is 30 days?) and that expired. Correct?

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by ejleipold » Sep 17, 2018 5:43 am

It was an invitation that was sent to us by Veeam to try it out (I'd imagine because we're already B&R customers).

Definitely more than a 30 day trial, doesn't expire for another 65 days (including the support contract).



Sorry, I'm probably a little saltier than usual, I've had to deal with level 1 support guys screwing me around for a few different vendors lately which has sapped my patience!

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4806
Liked: 508 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by Mike Resseler » Sep 17, 2018 6:25 am

Hmmm. I assume that it was our promo but it doesn't run anymore as far as I know. Might be easier to sort this out with your sales representative or simply remove the license (if you are on v2) so it becomes the community edition. That is fully free for 10 users and you can test as long as you want with those 10 selected users.

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by ejleipold » Oct 11, 2018 7:35 am

Just FYI, problem was resolved, apparenlty it didnt like being installed on the same server that was running B&R, reinstalled it on a different server and the recovery worked fine!

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4806
Liked: 508 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by Mike Resseler » Oct 11, 2018 11:53 am

That actually should not be a problem... Now I am curious. What version of B&R are you using?

ejleipold
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Oct 19, 2011 6:14 am
Full Name: Evan Leipold
Contact:

Re: 0365 Restore - help

Post by ejleipold » Oct 11, 2018 1:01 pm

Yeah it was a tip I got from Veeam support. I'm running 9.5.0.1922

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests