That should be indeed the idea. However, please note that (when licensed) the inactive user will only lose his "license seat" after 30 days. But with the new licensing options in the future and the grace periods, that will not be an issue. But you do need to take that user (inactive one) out of the backup job.
Additional tip: Many companies then use our Veeam Explorer to export that entire user to a PST and safeguard it somewhere