Maintain control of your Microsoft Office 365 email data
Post Reply
jimmyhurr
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 08, 2019 4:32 pm
Full Name: James Hurrell
Contact:

Attempting to robocopy repository to NAS - files locked

Post by jimmyhurr » Nov 08, 2019 4:49 pm

I have installed VB for Office 365 (3.0.0.422) and it's working well. Everything is installed on one physical machine - there is no virtualization in this small client (10 users).

The backup repository is set by default to C:\VeeamRepository on the same machine - which is fine - however I would like to back up this repository on a NAS which is backed up onsite and offsite. I've tried to copy the repository files with robocopy, but of course the .log and .adb files are locked by the Veeam Agent and cannot be copied.

What is the best way to get the VB for Office repository backed up? One thought I had was to install Veeam Backup Free on the machine and back up the repository to the same machine and then robocopy this back up across to the NAS (I know this works as I do it on my own personal machine).

Any pearls of wisdom?

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1723
Liked: 233 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Attempting to robocopy repository to NAS - files locked

Post by jmmarton » Nov 08, 2019 5:53 pm 1 person likes this post

Correct, VBO uses a live database to store all data so you can't use anything like robocopy or xcopy to make a secondary copy. Instead please considering installing the Veeam Agent for Windows on this machine and leveraging Application-aware Image Processing to get a complete, application-consistent backup of the VBO machine (including the repo).

Joe

jimmyhurr
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 08, 2019 4:32 pm
Full Name: James Hurrell
Contact:

Re: Attempting to robocopy repository to NAS - files locked

Post by jimmyhurr » Nov 09, 2019 4:05 pm

Thank you Joe.

When you say "Veeam Agent for Windows" do you mean the free version for end-points (this one: https://www.veeam.com/windows-endpoint- ... -free.html)? I'm unsure if this is "application aware". Or am I going to need a paid version that has application-aware capabilities to correctly back up the database created by VBO?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2705
Liked: 566 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Attempting to robocopy repository to NAS - files locked

Post by nielsengelen » Nov 11, 2019 3:02 pm 1 person likes this post

The free edition should work fine for this.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

jimmyhurr
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 08, 2019 4:32 pm
Full Name: James Hurrell
Contact:

Re: Attempting to robocopy repository to NAS - files locked

Post by jimmyhurr » Nov 11, 2019 9:40 pm

Installed Veeam free, first backup tonight.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests