Can you install Veeam Backup for O365 on same host as BR9.5?

Maintain control of your Microsoft Office 365 email data

Can you install Veeam Backup for O365 on same host as BR9.5?

Veeam Logoby cerberus » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:07 pm

Hello,

We have a single dedicated machine for backups which has Veeam BR 9.5 Update 2 installed (9.5.0.1038) for on-premise backup of Exchange, etc.

We have previously installed and used O365 Backup on the same machine, however an older version (1.0.910) and I would like to uninstall that version and install latest 1.5 build.

Based on online docs here https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/vbo36 ... tml?ver=15 it has a blurb that says "Veeam Explorer for Microsoft Exchange supported version is 9.6 or later. Earlier versions, in particular, deployed with Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 (including Update 1 or Update 2) or with Veeam Backup for Office 365 1.0, are not supported." - what does that mean?

Is it safe to install both VeeamBackupOffice365_1.5.0.1099.msi and VeeamExplorerExchange_9.6.0.1099.msi on the same host as Veeam BR9.5 Update 2?
Will that break anything within the BR9.5 suite in terms of being able to restore my on-premise exchange stuff (Exchange 2013 latest CU)?

Thanks.
cerberus
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: MD

Re: Can you install Veeam Backup for O365 on same host as BR

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:15 pm

Not at this moment. There is a difference in the Veeam Explorer for Exchange. This will be possible when Veeam BR9.5 Update 3 is out
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4220
Liked: 471 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Can you install Veeam Backup for O365 on same host as BR

Veeam Logoby cerberus » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:24 pm

Thanks for the speedy update Mike.

Can the backup component be installed so we're on latest version without VeeamExplorerExchange_9.6.0.1099.msi that gets bundled in the Office 365 1.5 zip file? I understand we probably won't be able to restore mailboxes in this state using the O365 component - but we would only run like this until Veeam BR9.5 Update 3 comes out?

The reason I want to upgrade is because we keep getting...
10/10/2017 9:31:00 AM :: Processing mailbox my.user@domain.com failed with error: Invalid Exchange Server version

So I figured we would upgrade the software to latest version first to see if it resolves instead of installing Veeam.Backup365.msp provided by KB2331.... is KB2331 rolled into 1.5?
cerberus
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: MD

Re: Can you install Veeam Backup for O365 on same host as BR

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:33 pm

That KB is indeed rolled into 1.5

And as far as I know, you can install it without Veeam Explorer for Exchange without breaking B&R. But that will take your restore possibilities away :-)

You can however install VEX maybe on another server (or your windows machine) and remotely connect to it.

Let me (to be certain) talk to our QC team to check if this is indeed a valid solution
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4220
Liked: 471 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Can you install Veeam Backup for O365 on same host as BR

Veeam Logoby cerberus » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:38 pm

If that is supported (installing VEX on another machine) that would be great to retain restore capabilities until Update 3 is released :) We've got Windows VMs we can place it on for the time being, so as long as its actually possible to connect to the Veeam Office 365 component with VEX running on another machine.
cerberus
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: MD

Re: Can you install Veeam Backup for O365 on same host as BR

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:41 pm

Actually, just chatted with the team. You can safely install VBO and VEX on that VBR 9.5 Update 2 server, it won't break anything. You won't be able to use the VEX + Cloud Connect possibility until U3, but that is only when you use VBO through a service provider which is not the case for you

So that is even better ;-)
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4220
Liked: 471 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Can you install Veeam Backup for O365 on same host as BR

Veeam Logoby cerberus » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:51 pm

That sounds good, off I go to do some upgrades.

Thanks for the help!
cerberus
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: MD

Re: Can you install Veeam Backup for O365 on same host as BR

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:52 pm

Sweet. Let me know how it went :-)
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4220
Liked: 471 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Can you install Veeam Backup for O365 on same host as BR

Veeam Logoby cerberus » Tue Oct 10, 2017 4:08 pm 1 person likes this post

It is running all good now - no more errors. :) Thanks
cerberus
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 2:45 pm
Full Name: MD


Return to Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests