Cant add network path as backup location

Maintain control of your Microsoft Office 365 email data

Cant add network path as backup location

Veeam Logoby MarksJHF » Tue Oct 18, 2016 2:29 pm

I just installed the beta for Veeam backup office 365 and wanted to use a network path where to backup will be downloaded to.
first i get an error saying i need to use an UNC path but after using an UNC path it says folder not found.

i've used a local folder on C now but would like to use a network folder instead any idea how ?
MarksJHF
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 2:15 pm
Full Name: M Schraag

Re: Cant add network path as backup location

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:50 pm 1 person likes this post

Hello,

Currently, connection to a destination target is done via Veeam service account. If you want to save backups in a shared folder, you should grant service account access permissions to this folder.

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20106
Liked: 1160 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Cant add network path as backup location

Veeam Logoby beber » Wed Oct 19, 2016 9:46 am 1 person likes this post

Hello,

i have the same problem

I run veeam on 2008 r2 in a domain

I have a data stotage on 2008 r2 in domain

For use a unc, i change the service veeam in services.msc with the domain\administrator

Now, i can use a unc.

But i dont want tu use the administrator domain account.

I create user in AD and add access on the unc on the data storage.

Change the service in services.msc with the new user created .

But now the service don't start.

What is the autorization on the user ad on the local machine for use veeam deamon ?

Thanks
beber
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:33 am
Full Name: beber

Re: Cant add network path as backup location

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Oct 19, 2016 10:26 am 1 person likes this post

AFAIK, this account needs to be local admin to have full access to the db and all the libraries.

EDIT: service account should have full access permissions to this folder: \ProgramData\Veeam\Backup365 and repository folder
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20106
Liked: 1160 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Cant add network path as backup location

Veeam Logoby MarksJHF » Thu Oct 20, 2016 11:47 am 1 person likes this post

Thanks i managed to get it to work.
you indeed need to ad the service account to the local administator group
Under services set the veeam service account as log on as a service on the Veeam backup for Microsoft office 365 service
then reboot the server and it should let you add an UNC path as backup repository

greetings
Mark
MarksJHF
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 2:15 pm
Full Name: M Schraag

Re: Cant add network path as backup location

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Oct 20, 2016 11:53 am

Yes, thanks for getting back and posting an update.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20106
Liked: 1160 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] Cannot change Repository Location

Veeam Logoby mcz » Thu Oct 27, 2016 11:54 am

Hi guys,

if I try to change the location of the repository to a UNC-path, I get the error "not found". I think it's a bug.
Here the log-entries:

Code: Select all
27.10.2016 09:28:09    1 (6376) Server: WS16 (CPUs: 4)
27.10.2016 09:28:09    1 (6376) OS: Microsoft Windows NT 6.2.9200.0 (x64)
27.10.2016 09:28:09    1 (6376) UTC Date & Time: 27.10.2016 07:28:09
27.10.2016 09:28:09    1 (6376) Timezone: (UTC+01:00) Amsterdam, Berlin, Bern, Rom, Stockholm, Wien
27.10.2016 09:28:09    1 (6376) Daylight: Mitteleuropäische Sommerzeit
27.10.2016 09:28:09    1 (6376) Account:
27.10.2016 09:28:09    1 (6376) Log level: Default
27.10.2016 09:28:09    1 (6376) ================================================================================
27.10.2016 09:28:09    1 (6376) Veeam.Archiver.Shell.exe: Version=9.5.0.657
27.10.2016 09:28:09    1 (6376) Command line parameters:
27.10.2016 13:49:52    1 (6376) Disabling job: office365 backup...
27.10.2016 13:50:19    4 (15624) Error: Nicht gefunden
27.10.2016 13:50:19    4 (15624) Stack:
27.10.2016 13:50:19    4 (15624)    bei System.Management.ManagementException.ThrowWithExtendedInfo(ManagementStatus errorCode)
   bei System.Management.ManagementObject.Initialize(Boolean getObject)
   bei System.Management.ManagementBaseObject.get_Properties()
   bei System.Management.ManagementBaseObject.GetPropertyValue(String propertyName)
   bei Veeam.Engine.Files.NetworkDriveResolver.GetDriveType(String driveLetter)
   bei Veeam.Engine.Files.NetworkDriveResolver.IsNetworkDrivePath(String path)
   bei Veeam.Archiver.Shell.Dialogs.OptionsDialog.RepositoryPathValidator.Execute(Action checkCancel)
27.10.2016 13:50:25    1 (6376) New configuration saved:
27.10.2016 13:50:25    1 (6376)   Repository:
27.10.2016 13:50:25    1 (6376)     Path: C:\VeeamRepository
27.10.2016 13:50:25    1 (6376)     Retention (in months): 36
27.10.2016 13:50:25    1 (6376)     Retention schedule: Everyday at 12:00
27.10.2016 13:52:30    1 (6376) Editing job: office365 backup...
27.10.2016 13:52:41    1 (6376) Enabling job: office365 backup...
mcz
Expert
 
Posts: 105
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:39 am
Full Name: Michael

Re: Cant add network path as backup location

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:05 pm

Hi Michael, looks like a permissions issue, please see above.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15394
Liked: 1142 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Cant add network path as backup location

Veeam Logoby mcz » Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:14 am

Thanks Alexander, now it's working! It was a permission problem as you described.
mcz
Expert
 
Posts: 105
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:39 am
Full Name: Michael

Re: Cant add network path as backup location

Veeam Logoby satheesh » Sat Nov 12, 2016 5:16 pm

As this usually isn't an issue, is this problem something that can be resolved in future releases maybe? I mean that you don't have to manually give the correct permissions.
Satheesh.net
satheesh
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 8:12 pm
Full Name: Satheesh Varadharajan

Re: Cant add network path as backup location

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Nov 14, 2016 3:35 pm

Accepted as a feature request. Seems like a setup wizard step prompting for credentials is required. Thanks for the suggestion.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15394
Liked: 1142 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest