Change in repository configuration on proxies

Maintain control of your Microsoft Office 365 email data

Change in repository configuration on proxies

Veeam Logoby johannesk » Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:23 pm

hi,

I need to add more storage to our VBR system.

If I just add a disk to a proxy and add it as a new repository (repository 2), then configure the backup job to use this repository instead of the one with the full disk:

Will the backup just continue and rely on the old repository without the need to download everything from scratch? Or could that be a strategy to scale out - when one repository drive fills up, just add a new one and configure the job accordingly?

regards
Jóhannes
johannesk
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 53
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:28 pm
Full Name: Jóhannes Karl Karlsson

Re: Change in repository configuration on proxies

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:13 pm

Hi Johannes,

Just to be sure. Are you talking about Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 or about Veeam Backup & Replication?

Cheers
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4225
Liked: 471 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Change in repository configuration on proxies

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:26 pm

Hi Johannes,

After you target the backup job to the repository2 a full backup will be performed.
Please review the article in the User Guide for additional information. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1008
Liked: 105 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Change in repository configuration on proxies

Veeam Logoby johannesk » Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:43 am

Yes I'm talkin about O365.
So if I add a disk to the proxy server and configure the disk as repository 2, change the backup job to use this repository instead of the on that's full. Will the backup have to download everything to the new repository? thus same data be on repository 1 and repository 2?

If so - how do you scale out the VBO? Will I have to stick with the same repository and just make it bigger?
johannesk
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 53
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:28 pm
Full Name: Jóhannes Karl Karlsson

Re: Change in repository configuration on proxies

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:19 am

Johannes,

If you copy the data from repository 1 to repository 2 and then repoint the job it should not make another full. But, if you do that, make sure you stop the VBO services first, then do the copy, and start again. I believe you will need to retype the password again for the organization when editing the job (because there will be a difference) but that should do the trick

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4225
Liked: 471 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests