Maintain control of your Microsoft Office 365 email data
Post Reply
marieelieg
Expert
Posts: 101
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Oct 20, 2016 7:15 am
Contact:

O365 Backup to Azure - How To?

Post by marieelieg » Feb 06, 2018 4:16 pm

Hello everyone,

How can I back up using Veeam for Office 365 to Azure?

I was thinking of:
1- Install Veeam for Office 365 on an Azure VM.
2- The proxy server will be this same Azure VM.
3- Present some storage (on Azure of course) to this VM. For example: E:\.
4- Create a repository on the Veeam management shell pointing to this storage. For example: E:\backups.
5- Add the Exchange organisation and create backups.
6- Install the Veeam Explorer for Exchange on this Azure VM for restores.

Is my thinking true? If not what is the best practise for this?

Thanks in advance!
PS: I'm using my phone so I apologize for any mistakes.

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4678
Liked: 498 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: O365 Backup to Azure - How To?

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 06, 2018 4:23 pm 1 person likes this post

All correct :-)

The only best practice I would consider is to scale-out (add another VM as proxy + repository) when the organization grows. Other than that. No comments :-)

marieelieg
Expert
Posts: 101
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Oct 20, 2016 7:15 am
Contact:

Re: O365 Backup to Azure - How To?

Post by marieelieg » Feb 06, 2018 4:26 pm

:D :D Noted!

Thanks Mike!!

vishalgupta
Veeam Software
Posts: 50
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 11, 2017 4:44 am
Full Name: Vishal Gupta
Contact:

Re: O365 Backup to Azure - How To?

Post by vishalgupta » Apr 11, 2018 6:19 am

Hi Mike,

Just adding one more query related to the same topic -

When we have VBO365 running on an Azure VM, does the port requirements remains same? as mentioned in the user guide?

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4678
Liked: 498 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: O365 Backup to Azure - How To?

Post by Mike Resseler » Apr 11, 2018 6:28 am 1 person likes this post

Hi Vishal,

Yes. The same port requirements apply. IaaS should be considered as on-premises... just running on someone else's computer :-)

vishalgupta
Veeam Software
Posts: 50
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 11, 2017 4:44 am
Full Name: Vishal Gupta
Contact:

Re: O365 Backup to Azure - How To?

Post by vishalgupta » Apr 12, 2018 11:11 am

Great :) Thanks Mike.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests